Garlicky Quinoa and Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was my first time trying quinoa and i absolutely loved this dish. I added just a little more mustard for extra tang. It was even better the next day. It was so good i made it again 3 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
We loved it. Very different. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Very easy to make, great tasting and healthy - what more could you ask for?! I subbed 2 tsp of Dijon mustard for the coarse grain and used 2 i/o 3 tbsp of olive oil. Also, after reading other reviewers' comments that this dish came out too bland, I used half a veggie cube to cook the quinoa. With these changes the flavor is subtle, but very noticeable, especially the fresh garlic, lemon juice and Dijon. I also like to mix red and white quinoa for a more striking presentation/enhanced flavor. One note on the serving size, in my experience this makes 2-3 portions (or 4 very small portions), so if this is your main side or your main course, you might want to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carabiniero8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The first time I made this I didn't have ground mustard and used dijon - big mistake. Gross. I wanted SO BADLY to like this dish. 2nd time I made it with the changes that other users said to, less olive oil ( glad I did or else it would have been swimming in it) and blanched broccoli (again glad I did as I liked my broccoli slightly cooked and dislike raw). It was a bit better but not much. I don't know if it is the tarragon or the mustard but the flavor was just not something I could handle. So sad because I've wasted 2 recipe's worth of food trying to make this dish. So disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Yummy. Didn't change anything. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was a simple, quick, tasty and healthy recipe. It wasn't an OMG thing, but definitely something I will keep handy for a quick meal. From reading it, I was worried that it would be a little bland, so I sauteed about 1/4 cup each chopped onion and green pepper, then added the quinoa and water along with a bouillon cube. Once it was done, I still found it bland, so I added some cumin and smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Doubled the recipe as the original amount didn't seem to make very much. However, only used half the amount of olive oil and it seemed to be fine. A terrific salad as it was very healthy, easy to make, and inexpensive. Would love to try it another time with feta cheese and maybe slivered almonds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made this recipe with some modifications and it was delicious. I used sauteed cauliflower and red peppers rather than broccoli. I used beef stock to make the quinoa. I also used sage, rosemary, and thyme because we didn't have tarragon!!!...It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
A bit bland for my taste. I cooked the quinoa in water but when I found the whole dish bland I sprinkled 1/2 a pack of low sodium chicken stock powder which helped some. I would make again but add a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This is a good healthy meal. The mustard and tarragon lend the quinoa a slightly warmer taste than other quinoa recipes that use tomato and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States