Garlicky Quinoa and Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This recipe is great. I made it pretty close, omitting one can of black beans and adding 3 cloves of garlic instead of one. I think the balance of olive oil, lemon juice and vinegar was perfect. It tasted so fresh! I lovew the mint and parsley tastes. Overall, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Exactly as is is a bit bland. With a bit of soy, worcheshire, double garlic it was 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Loved this recipe. As other cooks suggested, used less olive oil, half a lemon, sun dried tomatoes, and roasted cauliflower. I also whisked the dressing together before adding it to the mixture. I have made it twice now and it is great warm or cold. Tried adding feta cheese once and it was okay but why add the cheese? Keep it vegan for better health!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Made as is and really liked this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ethel
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
My second time making this salad. Was so wonderful I had to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I thought this was a really good dish. However, I added a couple of flavors that perked it up a bit. In addition to the recipe I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of low salt Soy sauce, 2 thinly sliced scallions, 3 cloves of garlic and a dash of red pepper flakes. I cooked the Quinoa in chicken broth and cut down on the oil. I found it to be great warm or cold. I'm sure there is a lot you can do to this recipe to change it up with many different flavors. Next time I'll try some Greek flavors with Feta, Mint and Oregano. Thank you for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Bader

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was an easy and healthy recipe to make and when I first mixed the sauce in it tasted really yummy. However the sauce was quickly absorbed into the quinoa leaving the whole thing lacking moisture. I thought the sauce was nice but I will try this in the future without the tarragon. Again, nice flavor at the beginning but I grew tired of it pretty quickly. Maybe I'm just not a tarragon person. It's a good base recipe that I think you can adjust with your preferred spices to make it your own. I topped it with crumbled feta cheese to give it a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I use 1 1/2 cups broccoli and blanch it, and add 2 tablespoons of diced red onion. I think it is best to make the dressing and then add it the salad. It is easy to adjust the dressing a bit to suit your individual taste. This is delicious at room temperature as well as chilled. Tomato and feta can add a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The ingredients made this look good. However, it turns out my wife discovered she did not like Tarragon, so that ruined it for her. I thought it very bland and "fixed it" by adding a little Balsamic vinegar. We probably will not bother making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky1234
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Best Recipe Ever!! I loved it. I blanched the Baby Brocolli (Brocollini) that I thought would fit this recipe better, and then I sauteed some mushrooms, onion, and extra garlic in the same pot I used to blanch in. When the onions and mushrooms were done I took it off the stove and added it to the Brocolli Bowl and started the Quinoa (I only had Red Quinoa), re-using the same pot again. Then I made the dressing in the same measuring cup I used to measure the Quinoa, and added it to the veggie bowl along with the Garbanzo Beans. When the Quinoa was done, I mixed it all together in the same bowl. How Yummy AND Healthy can you get?! And I only used 1 pot and 1 bowl. See my pic! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States