Garlicky Quinoa and Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was a great way to use quinoa and get some veggies and fiber too. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except that I cooked my garbanzos from dried, ahead of time, and I blanched my broccoli because I like it more tender. Also like many other reviewers I did decrease the amount of oil used. I imagine this recipe would also be good with toasted nuts, sauteed onions, or other add-ins. As-is, it's a terrific vegetarian way to get a well-balanced meal, and makes a really nice lunch for work days or a picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Absolutely excellent salad - I served it cold and it was really refreshing with that lemony dressing. Great with BBQed meats and a simple lettuce salad. Thank you for sharing this recipe jjane 123 with the rest of us... Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETIRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Quinoa is excellent because it is a complete vegetable protein. (one of the very few that has a balanced set of amino acids) My only advice is to find a source for your quinoa that is decently priced. I'm sure the price turns a lot of people off to this wonderful grain (I've found it for as much as $4.80 for an 8 oz. box in the grocery store!!). At our local co-op it's only $1.60/lb in bulk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was great! And so easy!! I had a quinoa/bulgur blend in the pantry. Eye-balled the EVOO and threw the broccoli in for the last few minutes of simmering based on other reviews. Definitely will make again and recommend to friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This seemed rather bland to me. I made it exactly as written, and wasn't all that impressed. I did add a little extra broccoli, because it didn't seem like enough. Altogether it was okay, but I had a hard time finishing it...the dish tasted really healthy, and not all that exciting. Thanks for sharing, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
WOW..very tasty. Added 2T chopped onion, 1c chopped steamed kale, bit of feta, cut down olive oil to 2T, and steamed the broccoli. Definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This is an easy recipe to make. Be carefully of the type of extra virgin olive oil used. I used one a bit strong so it overrides the other favors. If you like a bit of kick to your dish I would suggest experimenting each time. I like more of a Middle Eastern flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Enjoying this for lunch right now. I used asparagus instead of broccoli since that is what I have on had. I think I liked this better before I added the mustard tho. Next time I plan on using more lemon juice and no mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Yes, this is very good. Added some fresh dill and lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This IS great, well balanced and open to change: I have no tarragon or mustard, but love dried cumin in this type of thing. Used a whole broccoli bunch (florets, steamed), a whole cup quinoa instad if 1/2, so 1 1/2 tsp or more of dried cumin and at least 3x the citrus, crumbled feta added - OH BOY! Absolutely satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States