Garlicky Quinoa and Garbanzo Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I tried this recipe because it was so healthy and I liked a lot of the individual ingredients. I should have known it wouldn't be my favorite since I'm not a big fan of the flavor of mustard, and that really comes through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marion

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Norwich, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I'd give this 3-1/2 stars if I could. This was a good base salad, but everyone at the table agreed that the garbanzo to quinoa ratio was off. Next time, I'll start with a whole cup of the uncooked quinoa and might experiment with adding more veggies in addition to the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have to admit I was a little scared of how much mustard was going into this, but it turned out perfectly! Make sure you use coarse-ground mustard! I chopped the broccoli into tiny pieces (about dime-sized) and I threw it into the cooking quinoa for the last 3 minutes so it would soften slightly and get a nice bright green color. I also used about 1.5-2 cups of broccoli because 3/4 cup just wasn't enough. While the quinoa was cooking, I whisked the rest of the ingredients (minus the beans) together in a bowl. Once the quinoa and broccoli was cooked, I tossed in the beans and "dressing", and voila! Perfection! I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
this was a big hit!! didn't use broccoli, but fresh asparagus from our garden. very, very good. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
My family loved this--it's simple, healthy, and filling! Next time I'll add more vegetables, such as carrots or red bell pepper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this as written, and did not care for it. I couldn't figure out what it was that I didn't like. Maybe the tarragon? It just seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I'm a big fan of quinoa and I really like garbanzo beans, but I have to agree with a few of the others - this recipe was a bit bland. I ended up adding some cumin to help lift the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Good base recipe. I added a bit of oregano instead of tarragon, extra lemon juice, some smoked paprika, and a little kale and chard to make it more filling. I could stand more mustard as well, but it's a pretty tasty, light main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was my first time trying quinoa and i absolutely loved this dish. I added just a little more mustard for extra tang. It was even better the next day. It was so good i made it again 3 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
We loved it. Very different. Delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States