Garlicky Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Absolutely the BEST mashed potatoes I've ever had! I sauteed the garlic a bit to take the "bite" out of it, and to soften it a bit so I wouldn't be chomping on garlic like crazy. Serve with the Greatest Grilled Turkey and Slow Cooker Stuffing from this site, and you have one easy Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
YUM YUM YUMMY!! Boy were these good!! Even my 6 yr. old had seconds! Other than cutting the recipe in half and adding extra garlic (6 cloves which I roasted first) I didn't change a thing! I also made this with red skinned potatoes and left the skin on. The combo of the red skin and chives made for a very pretty presentation. Will definitely be making these again and again! Thanx Sara :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
These were just exactly what I was looking for. I had garlic mashed potatoes at a catered party a few years ago and this is the best recipe I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I never thought that mashed potatoes with chicken broth would taste so good. I used light cream, low fat milk and light sour cream. I also cut down the butter by one third. It still came out great. The garlic flavor made it a big hit! A definite side dish for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Hmmm mmmm, good. :) I had three lbs of baby red potatoes so I cut those in half (skins and all) and threw them in a pot covered with water. I didn't have any chicken broth so I added 6 chicken bouillon cubes to the water. I threw in 6 cloves of garlic with the potatoes to boil so they would soften (I love garlic!). I used fat free half & half and fat free sour cream to cut calories. No salt because it didn't need it (the bouillon took care of that part). Very, very good mix. I like the color the red skins and green chives gave the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
YUM - classic comfort food at it's best! I did cut back on the garlic just a bit and opted for light sour cream and milk vs. heavy cream to cut back on fat and calories. These were creamy and delicious. A perfect side dish for just about anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
As I was making this (tasting it), yes, I did find them bland... I ended up putting more sour cream in, attempting to correct the problem as well as adding more salt and some peccorino romano (parmesan would work as well) cheese to it. It makes the potatoes a bit richer but the taste most definately is enhanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I really liked these. The only thing I did differently was used roasted garlic instead of raw. I like that mellow flavor a bit better. They did turn out really great. Thanks for another great garlic potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Good mashed potato recipe. My husband really liked these. Nothing is too difficult and they come out with lots of great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made this according to according to the recipe and added cheddar cheese...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States