Garlicky Beet Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Let me first say that I am not a big fan of beets. BUT...this actually made them o.k., and my husband really loved them. I took your advice to add more garlic {selfishly I thought it would overpower the beet flavor}, and it created a nice taste combination. Thanks for a beet recipe that I can live with and my husband just adores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This was fabulous! I only used one clove of garlic, because I am not a huge garlic fan. The vinaigrette had just the right amount of tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
I love beets in salads, but had never used them as a side dish, as my husband hates them. I tried this recipe, and it's pretty good. Even my 4 year old (who is a veggie lover like her mom) ate it up, and she's not big on garlic. Of course, hubby and other two kids wouldn't even try it. Their loss. Will be using again, but prefer the beets on my salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
These even go over well with non-beet people. Savory and sweet at the same time. Makes good use of a somewhat neglected veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Have made this time and again. We all love it. I add more garlic as we are garlic lovers. Was always using fresh beets. For the heck of it I used drained canned sliced beets and it was excellent. Never would have believed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2001
Easy, but it does take a while. Good plain or add to green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I made this for a summer family picnic. It was a hit even with the kids! It was nice to have a new idea! We used canned beets, it kept the prep time down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
We didn't care for this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
This recipe was delicious and although it took my beets about 40 minutes to cook (because they were large)it was still very quick and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
I found this combination wonderfully delicious. It was just right. If you eat beets... this is good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEVADA753

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 71-80 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States