Garlicky Baked Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
The beauty of this dish is not only in it's simplicity, but also for the fact that it's delicious and is a beautiful and colorful addition to your dinner plate. This is one of those recipes that needs no tweaking, no changes. Whether it's 25 minutes or 50 minutes as other reviewers stated, bake the squash for as long as your oven requires. Other than that this is just a simply perfect recipe, perfect dish as written... subtle, mellow and sublime. Oh...hubby the squash hater not only tolerated it, but liked it. And our picky dinner guest went back to the kitchen for seconds! Go figure--must be the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
THIS is the only way my friend and frequent dinner guest wants me to cook butternut squash from now on. I make a killer butternut bisque (previous butternut squash fave dish), but this was fabulous! I increased the garlic (doubled it), I used dried parsley, and I cubed the squash on the small-ish side. Mine took about 35 minutes to cook. I added the Parmesan cheese after 25 minutes in the oven. I usually like to add freshly grated cheese to these kinds of recipes, but I didn't have any so I used the Parmesano/Romano grated blend. I lined the baking dish with non-stick aluminum foil for easier clean-up. This recipe rocks! Mine looked very pretty with the green parsley contrasting the orange/yellowish squash so I'd say you can make this as a side for guests and serve it on a pretty serving plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
WONDERFUL! After reading other comments I decided to experiment tonight-- I set a timer at 15 minute intervals, stirred, tasted, and continued... 30 min's results in a very good dish, but not the full nutty flavor of roast garlic you will get with longer time. At 45 minutes, the squash was too soft to stir without mashing, and a bit watery; I watched it carefully during the last 15 and removed it before it burned. The texture firmed up nicely, the flavor just wonderful. My wife came home a few minutes after I finished, the house filled with the pleasant aroma, and *had* to taste-- her response: "Please make that one again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This smelled wonderful while it was roasting! I used delicata squash, added the cheese about half way through and stirred the squash several times, letting it go for 50 minutes total. Next time I'll line the pan with non-stick foil so that I don't lose any of the crusty brown bits (and cleanup is easier).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was pretty good. It cooked must faster than listed, about 30 minutes. I think maybe 400 degrees is just too hot, it tastes a little like burnt garlic, and the edges of the pieces of squash burned. I'll probably make it again but on a lower heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RRSPANGLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by InTheDesert
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Super tasty! I poked holes in the squash and nuked for 8 mins, turning over half way through. Then I used a potato peeler to peel the skin off. This made it a lot softer for removing the seeds and cubing the squash. I thought the oven temp. was too hot so cooked at 375 for about 1 hr 10 mins, stirring the squash regularly throughout the cooking time. I added the cheese AFTER I pulled it out and mixed in, as well as a TBSP. of butter and some more salt. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InTheDesert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spryte
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I LOVED this! I replaced the parsley with rosemary to accompany the chicken I was baking... I reduced the olive oil to 1 TBLS to cut back on the fat. I don't care for sweetened squash and this was savory and delicious. I will definitely be making this again. And I'm emailing the recipe to my mom just as soon as I'm done typing! She'll love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Really tasty! You just need to drizzle oil on the squash until it's covered. Too much will make it greasy. I also roasted some red peppers in the broiler and added close to the end of cooking. I cooked on 400 degrees and it took close to an hour, I like it soft. I used 3 BIG cloves of garlic and sprinkled parmesean at the end just before serving. Put it in the oven on warm with the lid and it kept nicely until I was done bathing the baby!! Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was really good! I micro'd the squash for 5 minutes, and it made peeling and dicing a breeze. The only thing I added, by accident, was 1 tbsp. dry green chile rub. I live in New Mexico, so it's easy to come by. It turned out fantastic! Mine cooked in about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This recipe was a hit at my house! I was afraid there might be too much garlic but it really tasted just right. And like the previous reviewer, mine cooked much faster- about 35 minutes. That is a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States