Garlicky Baked Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Very tasty and different from the norm. We love garlic, and so it was perfect. Very easy once the squash is peeled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Anyway I could give this a 6 rating!?! This was SO good! Made it just like the recipe said and it came out GREAT! Will make it over and over again. Was hard to stop eating it! Husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Yum! We loved this at my house. I think we would eat butternut squash on our cereal if we could. We love a new way to make it. Perfect balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This recipe was a hit at my house! I was afraid there might be too much garlic but it really tasted just right. And like the previous reviewer, mine cooked much faster- about 35 minutes. That is a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Good, easy way to prepare butternut squash. I didn't have fresh parsley so I used a couple of teaspoons of dried as well as some pinches of dried sage. I stirred the squash every 10 minutes or so which kept it from becoming burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suavehouse113

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This had a wonderful flavor to it, even reheated; ant this was my first experience cooking (and eating) butternut squash. I followed other reviewers' advice and adjusted the temp down and cooked for 35 min., but mine was still not tender enough, so I ended up cranking it up to 400 and leaving it in longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerusalem, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pocola, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was good and tasty. It does take awhile to chop up the butternut squash. I have seen pre-chopped butternut squash at Trader Joe's. It would be very quick and easy to do with that. I did not have fresh parsley so I tossed in dried at the end of cooking along with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
WONDERFUL! After reading other comments I decided to experiment tonight-- I set a timer at 15 minute intervals, stirred, tasted, and continued... 30 min's results in a very good dish, but not the full nutty flavor of roast garlic you will get with longer time. At 45 minutes, the squash was too soft to stir without mashing, and a bit watery; I watched it carefully during the last 15 and removed it before it burned. The texture firmed up nicely, the flavor just wonderful. My wife came home a few minutes after I finished, the house filled with the pleasant aroma, and *had* to taste-- her response: "Please make that one again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I used one large butternut in a 2 1/2 quart dish and made the recipe as stated. It was wonderful. My only problem was that the recipe didn't state when to add the parmesan, so I tossed it in with everything in the beginning. I also stirred the squash twice during the baking. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Oh Yum! I was skeptical so I only fixed half of the squash using this recipe. My husband and I both loved it. Slightly sweet, slightly salty, and a little zingy from the garlic and pepper. I mashed and candied the other half and gave my kids the option of sweet or salty squash. No brainer- they chose sweet, so I can't comment on how kid friendly this recipe is. But I'll defintely fix it again. To ease the prep, next time I'll pierce and cook the whole squash in the microwave for about 5 minutes. After cooling a bit it will be lots easier to cut and peel. *added note: tried again using microwave to prep and left skin on, turned out great, kids ate it though my husband preferred it peeled. Also as an experiment I just made this recipe using a jack-o-lantern. Not as sweet as the butternut but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States