Garlicky Appetizer Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This one is a keeper! With 3 exceptions, we followed the recipe exactly. There were only 2 of us and we aren't big eaters, as in our younger years. We used just a tad over 1 pound of large shrimp, which made for left-overs. We both l-o-v-e garlic and felt that 1 tbs minced garlic sorta equates to "why bother?". I think I used about 6 good-sized cloves and minced 'em good. Used all the rest of the ingredients and let it all rest in the fridge for at least 1 1/2 hrs, if not a bit more. Bob didn't feel like messing with the grill, so we cooked 'em on the stove. Served it over angel hair pasta along with some steamed spinach and a salad, and a lovely bottle of dry, crisp white French wine. Oh my, what a meal!! We both agree we may never order shrimp scampi in a restaurant again! This recipe is sooo good on its own, 'though we just might try experimenting and add some white wine in the marinade next time. The leftovers reheated beautifully in the microwave at half-power. Thanks, Holly, this recipe is truly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
434 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Too cold to be grilling outside, and no means of doing it inside, so I just cooked this in a skillet and served it over angel hair pasta seasoned with olive oil and garlic. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
A now closed restaurant served something very like this. My favorite! I, like they, served it over fettucine. I garnished with green onion tops and served crusty slices of bread on the side. I cheated by cooking the shrimp in the sauce, stovetop. Yummy perfection and couldn't be easier! Edit: I added 2 T each of chicken broth and white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This is really good stuff. I made a few changes to suit the taste of my family. To the butter sauce I added a bit of stock (chicken) and a little bit of lemon juice. I let the sauce thicken up a bit and wow it was awesome. Gonna make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This was a great easy way to cook shrimp for a cookout! I found that if you left the shrimp in the scampi sauce for about a half hour it gave the shrimp more flavor. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
I loved this recipe! perfect garlic taste. i did add some season salt and grilled them for a minute on the george forman grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
My husband's reaction was WOW, I could eat these all night. I made these as an appetizer for the Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp & Basil (also from this site). This shrimp scampi is so easy to make and I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
My brother made this recipe once and it was great. I tried it, and we both made it on the stove top, rather than over the grill as suggested. It left us with a great sauce in the pan, in which I cooked linguini and added to the recipe at the end. Awesome! Only thing was that I didn't have shallots on hand, so it wasn't as flavorful as the one my brother made, WITH the shallots. Wonderful recipe, nevertheless. My husband loved it with pasta, and he doesn't usually like pasta. I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
Super fast and easy and you can even substitute green onions for the shallots. I gave this recipe to someone else who has thanked me kindly and has tried it herself twice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I LOVE the flavors of this recipe!! I do believe it's my favorite way of having shrimp now............and that includes any restaurant shrimp I've had! I followed the recipe precisely, except I cooked mine on my George Foreman Grill. It was so easy and tasted wonderful!! Absolutely incredible recipe! Thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Lynn Dutton-Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States