Garlicky Appetizer Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I was looking for a good base for my angel hair pasta and this was it, actually this is a GREAT base. I was looking to duplicate a dish I had dinning out and now I have. I added sun-dried tomatoes for personal taste. I mixed the angel hair pasta with the butter/oil sauce and my family loved it. This was so simple. I had dinner ready under 20 minutes. Thanks Holly. This one is definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
We really loved this recipe. We did not grill ours. We put it into an electric frying pan and fried the shrimp in some oil. When we cooked it this way, we had a sauce that we served with the shrimp. It was excellent! We added extra garlic - 1 tablespoon was not enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESIGNSBYBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
I loved the marinade...but it does need to marinate for some time...we couldn't taste it on the shrimp. Also...the butter made the grill fire up a LOT and it caused a lot of the marinade to come off and the shrimp tasted like...well, fire and grill! I will make extra sauce next time like others recommended and try tossing with pasta as well as letting the shrimp marinate for a while...yummy! How do we keep the fire from flaming so much???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2*4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
I made an extra batch of sauce to toss with pasta. If possible could use more garlic and some red pepper for zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I loved all the ingredients in the sauce, but the flavor didn't really penetrate into the shrimp. Next time I'll take others' advice and either marinate it longer or saute it in a pan and serve it along with the sauce over angel hair pasta. I can't wait to try it again with a few modifications. We served our leftovers over a nice Greek salad - good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This was a great easy way to cook shrimp for a cookout! I found that if you left the shrimp in the scampi sauce for about a half hour it gave the shrimp more flavor. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This is a really good recipe. If shrimp were cheaper we'd have this a lot more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This recipe is fabulous! I let them marinate for about 1 hr. to let the flavors really develop...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Ellis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I enjoyed the smokey taste I got off the grill more than anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Nice flavor, but too much butter for my taste. Next time, I'll cut the butter by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States