Garlicky Appetizer Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
We are garlic fans, but this one had almost no flavor except for the garlic. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
EXCELLENT! Hubs wanted surf and turf last night so I made these to go with our little filets. Grilled the steaks, and while they were resting, threw these on. The grill gave these terrific flavor. I had reserved some of the marinade separately from the shrimp. I warmed it in the microwave to barely heat it. Then drizzled it over both the shrimp and steak when plating. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I used these for a shrimp dish where the shrimp was the main attraction, so I used big and meaty Jumbo Gulf Shrimp - beautiful. I liked the mix of both butter and olive oil in this recipe, as well as the addition of chives and shallots, not usually seen in Shrimp Scampi recipes. I didn't see the need for paprika so I omitted it, but I did miss the lemon that IS typically part of any scampi recipe (or white wine) so I had Hubs give the shrimp a squeeze of fresh lemon juice as he broiled (rather than grilled) them. Four stars because of the absence of lemon in the recipe - five stars when included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I didn't like this recipe at all! It was bland and tasteless! I even added alot more and it was still no good. I will not be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sha Sha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I doubled up on the ingredients. Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Unable to taste these myself due to shellfish allergy but hubby really liked them. Will definitely be making these again. Thanks Marbalet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Prepared as written. Let shrimp sit in dressing for 1/2 hour. Served on top of filet mignon...perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHUGGIEBEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Very good recipe. Used 6 cloves of garlic. Also chopped up a small tomato that I had hanging around and threw it in when the shrimp was almost done. Will definately make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I followed the recipe except I used a grilling basket. After the flames died down everyone was VERY impressed. Will definitely do this the next time I can find affordable prawns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
It was okay. After cooking it and having a few, I took it away and added crumbled Feta Cheese. That livened up the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Southampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States