Garlic and Tomato Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Well I changed a little. I baked the Talapia smothered in pesto and topped with a slice of tomato. In a pot I simmered the garlic, tomato and some pesto sauce. Then I added the sour cream and it made a beautiful sauce. I served the fish with a side of egg noodles and spooned the sauce over the entire dish. A couple of basil leaves and my family scarfed it down. A++++ and easy to make! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sillystunt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This turned out great!! Based on others comments - I too made a few modifications. I used a can of Rotel (tomatoes and green chiles) in place of the tomatoes and added about 10 leaves of fresh basil. It was awesome and had quite a bit of kick!! The best tilapia dish I have made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by apedawn
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Kudos for this one. Since you can't find any good tomatoes this time of year, I used a can of Italian diced tomatoes (drained)I also used lite sour cream. This is a great week night recipe: quick, simple ingredients, healthy and tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I made this for my husband and myself last night. It was outstanding and I will surely make it again. I used flouder, since that is what I had on hand and it worked great. I also drained all the liquid off the fish after the first baking so that the sauce wouldn't be too runny when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I thought this was one of the best fish dishes I have ever had. I loved the sour cream. The garlic and tomato were excellent. And do not forget to add the salt and pepper because they really enhance the flavor of the sauce. I would definitely make this dish again. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
Great last minute quickie fix! Very easy and simple. I used roasted garlic and let it simmer with the tomato before adding the sour cream. This recipe could easily be changed by using salsa, basil, or adding your favorite flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karri W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cierra
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Overall, this is a fairly easy and quick recipe. I definitely think Basil should have been added to the ingredients list though! And remember to spice the Tilapia good before you bake it, or it will be too bland. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cierra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Beautiful on the plate and very tasty. I used diced plum tomatoes, and, per some other suggestions by reviewers, added a little more garlic, chopped red onion and basil to this recipe. Before I baked the tilapia for the first ten minutes, I seasoned it with just a little sea salt and a good amount of fresh ground black pepper, then drizzled just a little olive oil over it and a tiny bit of butter. This was delicious. My only suggestion would be to be sure you are liberal with your spices when you make this. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Great recipe, thank you so much! My 2 daughters, ages 7 and 3, ate it up very fast and loved it! And my hubby who usually doesn't care for fish, liked it! I brushed melted butter over the fish and seasoned it before baking by putting salt, dried oregano and basil on top. And I used canned diced tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Delicious! Roasted the garlic and tomatoes before adding the sour cream. Served with white rice. A light and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leenica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States