Garlic and Rosemary Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
This is like a meal you would find at a fine restaurant. I have made this several times and played around w/ the ingredients, but it always came out the best when I followed the recipe exactly as stated with the exception of the amount of garlic (I use a full bulb). I have tried serving this over different types of pasta, but plain or organic wheat angel hair are by far the best for this; they best complement the overall delicacy of the meal. It is also great as an appertizer with soft bread. One thing I find important is to not over cook the shrimp so that they do not get hard. I think the point of this recipe is to keep it light and tender all around. I watch the shrimp the whole time and as soon as they are all pink I take them off the heat, but leave them in the pan while serving. This recipe reqires close attention and babysitting, but it is pretty fast and as outstanding as it is, it deserves the attention while being cooked. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
I was a bit nervous about the size of the garlic chunks, but the cooking time was enough that they were nice and tender. We ate it with bread to mop up the juice - next time we do this I am going to reduce the liquids a bit more before adding the shrimp. The amount of sauce would have been just right for pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
What a winner of a recipe this is! Spicy and so very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This recipe was good, but I thought there was way too much wine taste. I think I'll leave out the white wine vinegar next time & just use the real wine. I also minced the garlic instead of halves and I didn't use the peppers, just the crushed red pepper. To subdue the "too much wine" taste, I added a slight amount of flour & milk which also made the sauce a bit thicker and a touch of sugar. I can only give three stars since it was just too strong as original. Will try again in my own version, Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Doesn't taste good. Too rubbery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Over capellini, it is a gourmet dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
very easy to make, but I'd reduce the juices a bit more. All that garlic... wow and tasty, superb over linguine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Wonderful combination! I didn't add the dried chile peppers b/c I didn't have them on hand, but added fresh mushrooms and a few chopped green onions. Since I wanted this as a dinner , I added cooked angel hair to the pan and let the flavors immerse for a few minutes before serving. Not that the sauce needed anything but I tried adding 2T. half n half to give the pasta and shrimp a more creamy constistency. It was a great addition. Then I reseasoned with old bay. This was delicious with garlic bread!! Thank you for such an inspiring recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I made this dish last night as a main dish it was absolutely wonderful. I am, as my name states a "new cook" and let me tell you this is a fool-proof dish. The only thing I would do next time is increase the amount of sauce if you are going to serve over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This recipe was very good. I made several changes to it after reading other reviews. I doubled the sauce and used the extra to pour over the rice and peas I made to accompany it. I also ommited the vinegar, although I don't think it would have been bad with it. I used 3 tsp.ground rosemary instead of fresh, and added a chopped shallot and 1/4 cup heavy cream. I reduced the oil to 2 tbsp and only used half of the garlic called for. After eating it, it was a big hit in our house. It definately would have been to garlicy with the stated amount though. Overall, I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States