Garlic and Rosemary Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This recipe was very good. I made several changes to it after reading other reviews. I doubled the sauce and used the extra to pour over the rice and peas I made to accompany it. I also ommited the vinegar, although I don't think it would have been bad with it. I used 3 tsp.ground rosemary instead of fresh, and added a chopped shallot and 1/4 cup heavy cream. I reduced the oil to 2 tbsp and only used half of the garlic called for. After eating it, it was a big hit in our house. It definately would have been to garlicy with the stated amount though. Overall, I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I made this as an appetizer and it was the first thing to go - my guests could not get enough!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Followed the recipe except for the vinegar (per other reviews) and used dried herbs instead of fresh and this was way too strong for our tastes. Didn't even put the full amount of rosemary and the flavor was overpowering - after serving and tasting this dish, I took it back to the sink to rinse off half of the herbs & sauce to make it edible. Will definitely not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Wonderful combination! I didn't add the dried chile peppers b/c I didn't have them on hand, but added fresh mushrooms and a few chopped green onions. Since I wanted this as a dinner , I added cooked angel hair to the pan and let the flavors immerse for a few minutes before serving. Not that the sauce needed anything but I tried adding 2T. half n half to give the pasta and shrimp a more creamy constistency. It was a great addition. Then I reseasoned with old bay. This was delicious with garlic bread!! Thank you for such an inspiring recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Very mundane. I would have preferred plain old garlic and butter saute to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was delicous! I followed other reviewers' recommendations and skipped the white wine vinegar. It had the perfect balance of wine flavor and herb flavors. I used dried rosemary, which was fine but added a gritty texture to the sauce (dried rosemary is very pokey). It was still great though, and very fast and easy! As a plus, it also fragranced my whole house with a beautiful herb smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Delicious! I reduced the garlic to half a bulb & minced it instead of cutting the bulb and using the whole thing. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This whipped up to make a quick lunch served over pasta. To save yourself time, get pre-peeled shrimp so you don't have to hassel with peeling the shrimp yourself. Served over linguini pasta with french bread and a caesar salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
this was great and spicy. just used wine and not the white wine vinegar and that was good enough for a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
My family really enjoyed this recipe! As another suggested, we also put it over bowtie pasta. I used dried tabasco peppers from my garden instead of the red chile peppers. It was just wonderful. Next time I make it, I will mince the garlic, as the whole garlic cloves did not give as much flavor as hoped. Otherwise though, just fabulous! Thanks so much, this goes into the normal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States