Garlic and Onion Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Wow what a great recipe! I used our George Foreman grill for this and just cooked them for 6 minutes...no need to flip (I love that indoor grill!). I like the fact that I had all the ingredients on hand and DH loved the flavor. I saw on previous reviews some said that this reminded them of meatloaf??? Well, to us it didn't. This burger had good flavor and I'm glad we gave it a try! Thanks so much Jeff for posting...this will definately be a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
These turned out great! I served them with swiss cheese, grilled onions and mushrooms on top. I also added 1 teaspoon of Aleppo Pepper & 1 teaspoon seasoning salt. To help the patties stay together I used 1/2 cup of oatmeal and 1 egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
These were good but it reminded me of a meatball or meatloaf. I trated them like a normal burger cheese,ketchup, lettuce tomato and onion. I will try them again but I think I will either top them with mozzerella an roasted red peppers or tomato sauce and mozzerella .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
These burgers were delicious!!! I used garlic powder (California blend)instead of fresh. I look forward to making these again and again!! They didn't taste like meatloaf to me like some of the reviews have mentioned! My whole family loved these, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
These burgers are delicious! They do NOT taste anything like meatloaf. I was a little leary of the italian seasoning, but it was perfect. Didn't change a thing. Great on toasted rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
We used ground round for these. As I always say, you need a little fat in a burger to make it juicy. Added a bit of tabasco sauce. Really good stuff, and we thank you, Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
These were great. Moist and didn't fall apart! I did omit the extra salt for dietary reasons as W. sauce has so much, but otherwise followed as written. Everyone loved them! I believe mixing everything then refridgerating helps the flavor so much. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
Great burger recipe. I let my hamburger meat marinate for a day and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Flavors were outstanding! Maybe the people who thought otherwise used dried minced onions? I used a fresh onion and minced it up. I made just over 6lbs and ran out of Worcestershire so I used Dale's Seasoning to round out the amt I needed. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Also, it is key to handle the meat as little as possible. After I mixed everything together (using wooden spoons kind of folding it in) I put into the fridge. I'd made it the day prior to needing. The day of, I took a 3/4 measuring cup and scooped out some of the meat. The measuring cup was just slightly overfilled. Then I gently pressed together into a ball. I placed the ball on a hot griddle (about 450) for 30 seconds. Flattened with spatula. Let it cook for 2 minutes. Flipped it, and let it cook for 3 more minutes. It's the "smash burger" method I read about in my Food & Wine magazine. SO GOOD!!! The cooking method was great but the meat was just fantastic. I was afraid because I could smell the italian seasonings but when I was eating the burger patty (tried the night prior with just the meat & bread to really see if it was good) it just tasted like meaty goodness. Wouldn't change a thing. In fact, I'm totally gonna use this exact recipe & altered cooking method to make hamburger steaks. Make a nice onion mushroom brown gravy to go over these bad boys? Oh yeah, good eating. I could not be happier with this simple yet flavorful beef patty. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
I am always looking for new ways to jazz up a burger on the grill. I served these on toasted onion buns and my whole family loved this one and it will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States