Garlic and Olive Oil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I poured this over a cold buckwheat and vegetable salad. After a few hours of sitting in the fridge, the flavours combined very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Other than the sugar not being necessary and the fact that this, of course, needs salt and pepper, this is perfect. Light, fresh and beautiful in its simplicity. This is MY kind of vinaigrette, and just what you need for salads made with light greens. Tonight I used it to lightly dress baby arugula that I used for a bed of grilled shrimp (also marinated in this).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
A decent healthy alternative to the oily, high sodium store-bought salad dressings. I added a little salt and pepper. I also had to substitute prepared Dijon mustard b/c I don't have the dry. For those that are particular about it not being too oily, make sure you try the "light" olive oil (I used Pompeian's Extra Light).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haydnikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This one is hard to rate. Normally, I'm a huge lemon lover and usually add more than a recipe calls for. But, this ratio of oil to lemon was a lot to start with! I went ahead and made it exactly as stated. It took a whole lemon to get the 2T. It's such a small amount of sugar, I didn't even detect it. Same with the mustard amount. It just tastes like oily lemon. So, I decided to pour a bit of this dressing on a zucchini & 2 romas and roast them with it. I then decided that I needed to clean out the fridge so I put a bit of butter in a pan, more garlic, some grilled chicken (leftover), some ww spaghetti (leftover) and added a bit of this sauce into the pan along with the zucchini & tomatoes that I had roasted. I heated it all with some fresh parm. The end dish was very good, but I don't think I could handle this as a vinaigrette on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
a yummy refreshing flavor... just what I was looking for! Added pinch of sea salt and a dash of fresh pepper... drizzled over tomatos... YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Yummy, yummy, yummy! Added 3 sliced green onions to the dressing. Served with leftover, cold, grilled Norwegian Salmon on a bed of mixed spring salad greens. It was perfect. The light, lemony, flavor complemented the dish well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Delicious! I needed a salad dressing for my blood type diet (which needed to be vinegar and dairy-free) and this is perfect! Great recipe to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
A good basic recipe that can be put together last minute and will complement your fresh produce with out over powering it, as well as being very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
The dressing wasn't bad, but for some reason the tastes of the lemon and the garlic didn't mix. Each bite was either too much lemon or too much garlic. Weird for my taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Schilling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
I had this dressing at a restaurant and always wanted to know how to make it. I found it too lemony so I cut the lemon in half and I found it too thin so I added mayonnaise. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

How to Roast Garlic

Roast garlic in four easy steps for flavorful mashers, dips, and garlic toast.

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States