Garlic and Leek Ditalini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made this healthir by using light cream instead of heavy. I also used more leeks and less cheese. Very good and creamy, I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
My daughter, who is an excellent cook, served this at Easter. The only change she made was substituting light cream for the heavy cream; it was delicious. I hope she makes it a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Mmmm, I really enjoyed this smooth and creamy pasta side dish. (Hubs not so much, but then that was a given, considering he doesn’t like “stinky” cheeses like Parmesan, Romano, etc. Even so, he still scarfed it right up!) I had an “Autumn Harvest” special blend orzo I wanted to use, so I substituted that for the ditalini. While it obviously gave this dish extra flavor it wouldn’t have had on its own, I have no doubt I would have enjoyed this just as much had I used the ditalini. The leek was a creative and interesting addition that along with the heavy cream and cheese made a really rich and delectable sauce. I served this with “Veal Marsala,” and “Sauteed Green Beans,” both recipes from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Thank you for the nice simple recipe. I had a lot of leeks on hand this fall and I never cooked with them before. This was such a pleasant dish. First, I made the original recipe for myself and loved it. Then, I altered it to serve my family by tripling it, added to cooked campanelle, topped w/cheese, and baked to brown the cheese. OH SOOO YUM. This is just a suggestion, the original recipe is 5 stars just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is a QUICK and tasty recipe! It has become a "usual" at our dinner table. My only substitution is olive oil for the butter, but other than that I prepare it as-is. I find the amount of sauce enough for a coating of the pasta instead of being dredged. If you like a more saucy dish I would recommend doubling the sauce portion of the recipe. I give this 5 stars for ease and yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel den Hoed
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This was a decent pasta recipe. I enjoyed the flavor of the leeks, which really came through in the sauce. We did make it lower in fat by using milk instead of heavy cream and adding some flour to saute with the leeks just before the milk to thicken it, which worked well. I also reduced the amount of butter used. I gave it only three stars because it was not a special recipe or something that I would remember but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
So tasty and simple! I happened to have a "leftover" leek and looked up any recipe to use it and came across this one. I had everything but the cream so I used fat free half and half that I had on hand. Delicious! My kids gobbled it up and requested that I make it again as soon as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was decent but a little plain tasting. I think the leeks should of been cooked longer. I added some chili flakes and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This dish was pretty good. It was basically just an alfredo sauce. I didn't think it would be good over ditalini, so I used orecchiette instead. I also used a full cup of cream because there wouldn't have been enough juice to coat the pasta. Next time I think I will use only half a cup of cheese because it was a little overpowering for me. Overall this was very tasty and very easy...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is quick to make and sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States