Garlic and Leek Ditalini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I thought I had cream, but I only had half and half; so I thickened the sauce with flour (by taking about 1/4 cup warm sauce and adding about two tablespoons flour & then stirring out all the lumps before adding it back)- I doubled the recipe. I then added a can of minced clams with about two tablespoons of the clam liquid and about 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes... my husband likes spicy food! It turned out extremely well. By the way, I have no idea what ditalini even looks like; instead, I substituted fresh linguini from the grocers fridge:) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This dish was pretty good. It was basically just an alfredo sauce. I didn't think it would be good over ditalini, so I used orecchiette instead. I also used a full cup of cream because there wouldn't have been enough juice to coat the pasta. Next time I think I will use only half a cup of cheese because it was a little overpowering for me. Overall this was very tasty and very easy...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
My daughter, who is an excellent cook, served this at Easter. The only change she made was substituting light cream for the heavy cream; it was delicious. I hope she makes it a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel den Hoed
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This was a decent pasta recipe. I enjoyed the flavor of the leeks, which really came through in the sauce. We did make it lower in fat by using milk instead of heavy cream and adding some flour to saute with the leeks just before the milk to thicken it, which worked well. I also reduced the amount of butter used. I gave it only three stars because it was not a special recipe or something that I would remember but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made this healthir by using light cream instead of heavy. I also used more leeks and less cheese. Very good and creamy, I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This was ok and the flavor was ok. Next time I think I'll use more leeks. And maybe add some fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is a QUICK and tasty recipe! It has become a "usual" at our dinner table. My only substitution is olive oil for the butter, but other than that I prepare it as-is. I find the amount of sauce enough for a coating of the pasta instead of being dredged. If you like a more saucy dish I would recommend doubling the sauce portion of the recipe. I give this 5 stars for ease and yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My whole family loved this and I don't think it could have possibly worked with milk to replace the cream, there are some recipes that you just have to make up for it in the diet later. It was very rich and filling, but even still my 6 year old have four servings. My 12 year old also made it with my help and he wanted to add chicken and brussel sprouts and it was a good touch to make it a one dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EKRATERF
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Used orzo instead of ditalini, this is a great side dish. Works with everything from halibut to duck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKRATERF

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
this was awesome. I see where you could add ingredients to this, and I odn't care if it was just a linguine sauce, this was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States