Garlic and Leek Ditalini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Loved it. Used more leek, less Romano and used half and half. Added a cup of kale which made it look more interesting and added nutritional value. Will definitely repeat. Maybe with orzo or barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utespindoc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Very good, although it needed way more garlic. I only had skim milk on hand, so I used that along with extra butter. I've never cooked with leeks before (grew them in the garden this year), and they browned a bit more than I would have liked, but I admit to being distracted while they were sauting. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I've tried this recipe a few times now, and I just love it. The last time I made it, I used half heavy cream, half milk. I also chopped up and browned some chicken breasts, which went so well with the sauce and pasta. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Good recipe, but I found it to be a bit bland. Definitely needs some salt, maybe some additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Delicious! This is my first time trying leeks and this is a fantastic dish. I would actually double the leeks on this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsygirl64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Mmmm, I really enjoyed this smooth and creamy pasta side dish. (Hubs not so much, but then that was a given, considering he doesn’t like “stinky” cheeses like Parmesan, Romano, etc. Even so, he still scarfed it right up!) I had an “Autumn Harvest” special blend orzo I wanted to use, so I substituted that for the ditalini. While it obviously gave this dish extra flavor it wouldn’t have had on its own, I have no doubt I would have enjoyed this just as much had I used the ditalini. The leek was a creative and interesting addition that along with the heavy cream and cheese made a really rich and delectable sauce. I served this with “Veal Marsala,” and “Sauteed Green Beans,” both recipes from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
So tasty and simple! I happened to have a "leftover" leek and looked up any recipe to use it and came across this one. I had everything but the cream so I used fat free half and half that I had on hand. Delicious! My kids gobbled it up and requested that I make it again as soon as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was decent but a little plain tasting. I think the leeks should of been cooked longer. I added some chili flakes and that helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is quick to make and sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
So simple and so delicious! Made with rotini instead of ditalini and double the amount of sauce. Served with bbq'd tri-tip and my husband and I both thought the pasta outshined the tri-tip! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crockpotpirate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States