Garlic and Herb Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Simple and delicious! Just as the submitter states this is definitely a nice alternative to bottled italian dressings for a marinade. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and a mix of white wine vinegar and regular distilled white and cut back a bit on the water. I did add the poultry seasoning and marinated this overnight. I added a sprig of fresh rosemary to this while it was grilling. This chicken was exceptionally good and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I used this mariadae before grilling chicken. I omitted the poultry seasoning which may have been a problem. Next time I will omit water and add some sort of citrus juice to help tenderize the meat more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I made a slight change and left out the poultry seasoning. As poultry seasoning contains most of the same seasonings that are already in the recipe I just increased them slightly - a pinch or two and let me tell you I used this marinade for a charity funtion and the chickens sold like hot cakes. I had been asked for the recipe it was so good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMLAWS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Great marinade recipe! The only thing I added was a few bay leaves, and a tad extra garlic. We love garlic =) I used it on Country Style Pork Ribs then tossed 'em on the grill. Ooooh YUM! Anyway, it came out great - just like Mom used to make in summer time. Thanks for the recipe Denyse, will be using again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Much better than Italian dressing! I added fresh lemon juice to the marinade to give it some acid to tenderize the meat and used extra virgin olive oil in place of the vegetable oil. I want to try this with fresh herbs this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This was great!! It I marinaded for about 4 hours and the chicken was soo tender. i used lemon juice instead of water, and I think that's just about the only change I made. Quick, easy, and delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Great marinade. We let the chicken sit for 3 hours, and would have done longer if we hadn't been so hungry :) I doubled the garlic. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
I used this overnight on chicken I then BBQ'd. Very good, the poultry seasoning made all the diffference! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
What a flavorful marinade Denyse! We used it tonight on a top round roast that I marinated for 6 hours, then pan-seared. This received rave reviews at my house. I used others suggestions, and used lemon juice instead of water, and added a bay leaf. Thank you so much, I can't wait to try it on chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This is my favorite Marinade! Thank you =0) I have made it aleast a half a dozen times now!!! Try it, it is terric. Let the chicken sit in the marinade for atleast 4 hours (overnight if possible) and use freshly minced garlic. It has a great flavor and no extra sauces are needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Garlic Marinated Steaks

See how to make a simple marinade for tender, flavorful grilled steaks.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States