Garlic and Herb Cream Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I have made this three times now and everyone really enjoys it. First time very garlicy so I decreased the garlic 2nd & 3rd times. The butter is a little too funky for me so 2nd time added some sour cream, 3rd time did just cream cheese. Make it ahead of time so the flavors blend well. Unlike previous reviewers, I had no problem with dry herbs but can't wait until summer to try with fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This was very good. I took the advice from other posters and cut butter way back to 2 Tbs. Instead of chopped garlic, I substituted garlic powder as I threw a party with children attending. (my kids are not very fond of chunks of raw garlic). I added in 1/2 cup reduced fat sour cream to help with spreadability. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Did pretty much as directed - strong (garlic) cause did not let set long enough. Had mellowed out by next day. Used only 1/2 of butter. Used mainly as a spread on crackers. Also great on sandwiches (meat ball subs - yummo!) and grilled chicken - instead of mayo. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Super! I cook professionally and found this most excellent! In fact, I created a fabulous new wrap using it!! Roasted assorted summer veggies (corn, zucchini, onion, mushroom, tomatoes) in garlic infused oil. Piled mixture in GARLIC AND HERB CREAM CHEESE schmeared wrap. Divine - thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I have made this over and over and over again since I first found the recipe in early February. It is easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I was looking for a recipe for garlic and herb cream cheese for an appetizer recipe. I thought this tasted pretty good. I made 1/2 recipe, used low fat cream cheese, and left out the butter. I may try it in the future with butter, just to see the difference. The only downside is I thought the texture of some of the dry herbs was a little noticeable. I am guessing refridgerating it some, would soften them up a bit. Excellent flavor, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
As others recommended, I also omitted the butter and added a tiny bit of milk to get the proper consistency to squeeze through a decorating tip. It was very good, and I can see how it would be incredibly easy to adjust according to taste. This time I used it with different colored peppers, but it could be put on just about anything. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
LOVE this! I did make a few changes tho! I didn't add the butter because I thought it sounded unhealthy so in it's place I added 3 Tbsp. of sour cream! It wasn't to stiff but not to runny & had an amazingg flavor! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Listening to others I too cut the butter in half. I used this to stuff refrigerated creascent rolls before bakinig was great. I made some creasent shaped and others like pinwheels. This was for a breakfast potluck so I did not add as much spices, mostly just cheese, parm and garlic. it was still good went fast thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I was looking for a cream cheese spread like what is found at Panera. As published above, this recipe wasn't exactly to my liking. I felt the butter "weighted" the spread down and added unneeded calories. And the both the amounts of garlic and oregano overpowered the taste of the cream cheese. However, this is a 4-star recipe because of its adaptability. I personally omitted the butter and oregano, and used powered garlic and onion, and bumped up the dill. It turned out very similar to the spread used on the fantastic tomato herbed cream cheese bagels at my local coffee shop. You will enjoy the creativity of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sstockwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States