Garlic and Herb Cream Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Made this and completely omitted the butter (sounded nasty to me) and it was delicious. Didn't even notice it was missing. Everything else was done according to the recipe. Works really well on bagels in the morning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This recipe is a good base but I would make a few changes. I didn't like the texture of the dry herbs. I thought they would soften up by the next day but mine didn't. Next time I would use fresh. Normally, I am the biggest garlic fan but the flavor was overwhelming. I used two large cloves so next time I would cut back on that some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
So.. I had some crackers and some cream cheese and was not really inspired to snack... until I thought: "maybe, there's a recipe for some 'cream cheese' dip".. Low and behold, there was! This recipe. I made it and was really enjoying it until my 4 kids and husband discovered my newly discovered treat... it did not last long after that. :) I made this exact to recipe and really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. It was great with some wheat thins and also ritz crackers. I did add 2 tablespoons of milk hoping that it could still be spreadable while it was still cold, but it didn't happen. Maybe the milk helped soften the dry herbs, I didn't have any problems with it. Will definitely make this again. *not recommended for parties in which people want to impress others, but great for family and such - fantastic for garlic lovers :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
great base recipe. i basically used the main premise and added roasted garlic, basil, oregano, thyme, parsley, salt & pepper to taste (much more than the recipe suggests), won't buy flavoured cream cheese anymore. tastes just like herb & garlic cream cheese from tim hortons, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Better than Boursin!!!!!!! This will be my go to recipe for sure. Much more flavorful than store bought. I use this type of cheese all the time for things like crab stuffed muchrooms, pork wellington and simply with crackers. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I was looking for a cream cheese spread like what is found at Panera. As published above, this recipe wasn't exactly to my liking. I felt the butter "weighted" the spread down and added unneeded calories. And the both the amounts of garlic and oregano overpowered the taste of the cream cheese. However, this is a 4-star recipe because of its adaptability. I personally omitted the butter and oregano, and used powered garlic and onion, and bumped up the dill. It turned out very similar to the spread used on the fantastic tomato herbed cream cheese bagels at my local coffee shop. You will enjoy the creativity of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sstockwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was pretty good, and is a good base idea. Like others, I'd cut the butter by up to half. The oregano was just too much for me, too, so I'd leave that out next time, and increase the dill a bit. I didn't mind the dry herbs, just the strong oregano flavor. It would also be good with goat cheese rather than cream cheese. We ate it as a snack on bagels! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Really tasty and easy! Had some this morning on my Ezekiel sesame toast - really good (escpecially with the sesame seeds on the toast - yum!), even though I thought the garlic might be too strong (particularly in the morning!) it was not too strong at all. This would be great on one of those "everything" bagels. Since I can tell I'll be making this again, I will probably try with reduced fat cream cheese/butter next time, but other than that I don't recommend any other changes - it's excellent as stated! Thanks for sharing! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Did pretty much as directed - strong (garlic) cause did not let set long enough. Had mellowed out by next day. Used only 1/2 of butter. Used mainly as a spread on crackers. Also great on sandwiches (meat ball subs - yummo!) and grilled chicken - instead of mayo. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States