Garlic and Herb Cream Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Really tasty and easy! Had some this morning on my Ezekiel sesame toast - really good (escpecially with the sesame seeds on the toast - yum!), even though I thought the garlic might be too strong (particularly in the morning!) it was not too strong at all. This would be great on one of those "everything" bagels. Since I can tell I'll be making this again, I will probably try with reduced fat cream cheese/butter next time, but other than that I don't recommend any other changes - it's excellent as stated! Thanks for sharing! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This recipe is a good base but I would make a few changes. I didn't like the texture of the dry herbs. I thought they would soften up by the next day but mine didn't. Next time I would use fresh. Normally, I am the biggest garlic fan but the flavor was overwhelming. I used two large cloves so next time I would cut back on that some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This is pretty good, but I'm tasting the butter/margarine/whatever this recipe called for pretty strongly. I would cut that back to maybe 1/2 stick so it wouldn't be as prominent a taste for me. Otherwise, quick and easy and it keeps well. I made this 2 days ago and am just getting around to trying it! Good for crackers or bagels. Thanks! N*R Go to Recipe Exchange for more info on N*Rs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was good, I served it with raw veggies. I will cut back on the butter next time, but even with the whole amount it was good, just a little too much for my taste. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was pretty good, and is a good base idea. Like others, I'd cut the butter by up to half. The oregano was just too much for me, too, so I'd leave that out next time, and increase the dill a bit. I didn't mind the dry herbs, just the strong oregano flavor. It would also be good with goat cheese rather than cream cheese. We ate it as a snack on bagels! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. It was great with some wheat thins and also ritz crackers. I did add 2 tablespoons of milk hoping that it could still be spreadable while it was still cold, but it didn't happen. Maybe the milk helped soften the dry herbs, I didn't have any problems with it. Will definitely make this again. *not recommended for parties in which people want to impress others, but great for family and such - fantastic for garlic lovers :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
great base recipe. i basically used the main premise and added roasted garlic, basil, oregano, thyme, parsley, salt & pepper to taste (much more than the recipe suggests), won't buy flavoured cream cheese anymore. tastes just like herb & garlic cream cheese from tim hortons, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Made this and completely omitted the butter (sounded nasty to me) and it was delicious. Didn't even notice it was missing. Everything else was done according to the recipe. Works really well on bagels in the morning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
So.. I had some crackers and some cream cheese and was not really inspired to snack... until I thought: "maybe, there's a recipe for some 'cream cheese' dip".. Low and behold, there was! This recipe. I made it and was really enjoying it until my 4 kids and husband discovered my newly discovered treat... it did not last long after that. :) I made this exact to recipe and really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
We thought this was exceptionally good and as others did, I cut the butter in half and next time I'll cut the garlic in half. We are garlic lovers but felt this was a little heavy-handed. I diced up a bit of sundried tomatoes in it, too, for color. Overall, it certainly is a keeper and as others have said, stuff always on hand and cheepo ! Makes a handy little quickie gift for someone who unexpectedly brings you a little something. Just put in a pretty little container and keep in fridge til needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Motorhomegal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States