Garlic and Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Oh, my, this is truly the best bread I believe I have ever tasted. I eliminated the sugar and powdered milk, everything else was the same. In the future I will add maybe 1 teaspoon of garlic. I had this with pasta tonight and it was wonderful!!!! The house smelled so good while it was baking that I could hardly wait for it to be done. I used the light white bread setting on the bread machine and it was perfect for texture and the crust was just right. I use this setting for french bread too because my machine makes the french bread crust too crusty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sc B. McKinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
this is really good bread...do not care about the reviews...coz it worked for me...thanks for the recipe...it is a good bread...and will forsure make it again...it is so lite...can't go wrong..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was a snap to assemble. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer from beginning to end, as I'm not one that has a bread maker. I proofed the yeast in my Kitchen Aid mixer bowl with the sugar and water for ten minutes to get the yeast to "bloom", then I added the vegetable oil and the rest of the dry ingredients. I did add in 3 tablespoons of Kraft parmesan cheese and I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I had to add one more tbsp. of flour to get the bread to jump on the bread hook, but it didn't need much more flour than that. I kneaded it with the bread hook for about five minutes, then set it to rise in a lightly covered, greased bowl on my warm heating pad for an hour. After it doubled, I formed the dough into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins. I got ten large rolls out of one recipe. I again covered it lightly and set it to rise on my heating pad again. 350* for 17 minutes was just right. When the rolls came out of the oven, I brushed just a touch of oil over the top for a nice bakery sheen. The flavor of these rolls is almost "ranch" like and the texture of these rolls was very soft and fluffy. (It's funny that it did turn out almost light in texture when the dough itself was so heavy feeling.) Next time, I might try using dry buttermilk powder and see if I can't get more of a buttermilk ranch flavor. As it is, this was a very good bread recipe. This will be very good with our spaghetti dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I obviously wanted to give this a taste before I wrote my review and, *blush,* four slices later here I am. This bread is wonderful! I forgot to add the dry milk powder and that may just be one of the reasons why I liked this bread so much - dry milk powder helps to make a soft and fluffy bread, and I much prefer something sturdier, which this was. I noticed the reviews of this recipe run the gamut from its having too much flavor to not enough - I guess it depends not only on your taste buds but the herbs you use and how fresh they are (if they are on the brownish side definitely toss 'em!). I found it perfect with subtle, understated, well-balanced flavors. I used the French bread setting and got the sturdy, well-developed texture and crackly crust I wanted. I also reduced the sugar to 1 T. since I don't like much sweetness in my breads and to ensure it didn't over rise (which it still did a little bit so next time I'll use even less or none at all). Don't be put off by the title which could lead you to think this is a boldly flavored, GARLIC-y bread. It's not. Sure hope this recipe sees more activity, because it really is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
A family favorite - especially with pasta or soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This bread is out of this world. However the recipe doesn't tell how to cook if using the bread machine on the Dough Setting and baking in the oven. Temperature? Length? Time to rise before baking? I use my best cooking knowledge and seemed to do okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
I found this recipe years ago on this site. I added a touch of crushed garlic to the recipe, and it is now a tradition to make this for my family on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
This was very good. I started this in the breadmaker and finished in the oven. The house smelled wonderful while it was baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This recipe is outstanding. My husband and I love it. It has great flavor and is really easy to make. Sometimes I mix in the ingrediants and set my bread maker to the dough function then shape the dough into smallers balls for rolls. It bakes well in the oven if you prefer rolls to an entire loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sheffield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Instead of bread - I made these into bread-sticks!! I couldn't see a reason why they wouldn't work. Baked up a few and they were very tasty. I'll be having a chicken and a beef/sausage lasagna for Easter and wanted to do something different than the usual garlic bread. I rolled and cut them out and then froze them so I could bake them fresh on Easter. I baked up a few and brushed a bit of melted butter & Parmesan on them towards the end of the baking time---yum! I think I will play with the butter mix some more before I bake the rest. But - loved the bread!! Wonder what kind of a pizza crust it would make!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States