Garlic and Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Too much celery seed, it was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
It wasn't bad but it's not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Oh, my, this is truly the best bread I believe I have ever tasted. I eliminated the sugar and powdered milk, everything else was the same. In the future I will add maybe 1 teaspoon of garlic. I had this with pasta tonight and it was wonderful!!!! The house smelled so good while it was baking that I could hardly wait for it to be done. I used the light white bread setting on the bread machine and it was perfect for texture and the crust was just right. I use this setting for french bread too because my machine makes the french bread crust too crusty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sc B. McKinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Just baked this in my bread machine. Mine also fell a little, but came out delicious! Only a couple of changes: I roasted two bulbs of garlic cloves in the oven and added those to the kneading cycle. they were pulverized into the dough, although my original intention was to have bits of garlic cloves for a more rustic type of bread. I also did not happen to have any celery seed or dill weed, so those ingredients were omitted. My husband says this bread is a keeper. We dip ours in herbed olive oil and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
After reading the reviews, I was really looking forward to eating this bread. Smelled wonderful while it was baking. However, what a disappointment - did not like the flavor at all. Oh well, on to the next recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEENCAROLH
Living In: Frankfort, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made this in my bread machine following the recipe as written. I found that the flavor of celery seed was overpowering and there was some bitterness which I think was the parsley. I will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I attempted this recipe twice as written and it failed both times. The flour/liquid ratio seemed to be off. It wasn't forming a proper dough ball and there was lots of unincorporated flour in the pan. I checked my other recipes and they all called for 2 1/2 cups of flour as opposed to 3 cups and the same amounts of liquids. Not sure how everyone else seems to be getting it to work as written. Once I got the ingredient ratio right, it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was a snap to assemble. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer from beginning to end, as I'm not one that has a bread maker. I proofed the yeast in my Kitchen Aid mixer bowl with the sugar and water for ten minutes to get the yeast to "bloom", then I added the vegetable oil and the rest of the dry ingredients. I did add in 3 tablespoons of Kraft parmesan cheese and I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I had to add one more tbsp. of flour to get the bread to jump on the bread hook, but it didn't need much more flour than that. I kneaded it with the bread hook for about five minutes, then set it to rise in a lightly covered, greased bowl on my warm heating pad for an hour. After it doubled, I formed the dough into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins. I got ten large rolls out of one recipe. I again covered it lightly and set it to rise on my heating pad again. 350* for 17 minutes was just right. When the rolls came out of the oven, I brushed just a touch of oil over the top for a nice bakery sheen. The flavor of these rolls is almost "ranch" like and the texture of these rolls was very soft and fluffy. (It's funny that it did turn out almost light in texture when the dough itself was so heavy feeling.) Next time, I might try using dry buttermilk powder and see if I can't get more of a buttermilk ranch flavor. As it is, this was a very good bread recipe. This will be very good with our spaghetti dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
this is really good bread...do not care about the reviews...coz it worked for me...thanks for the recipe...it is a good bread...and will forsure make it again...it is so lite...can't go wrong..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Instead of bread - I made these into bread-sticks!! I couldn't see a reason why they wouldn't work. Baked up a few and they were very tasty. I'll be having a chicken and a beef/sausage lasagna for Easter and wanted to do something different than the usual garlic bread. I rolled and cut them out and then froze them so I could bake them fresh on Easter. I baked up a few and brushed a bit of melted butter & Parmesan on them towards the end of the baking time---yum! I think I will play with the butter mix some more before I bake the rest. But - loved the bread!! Wonder what kind of a pizza crust it would make!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States