Garlic and Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I obviously wanted to give this a taste before I wrote my review and, *blush,* four slices later here I am. This bread is wonderful! I forgot to add the dry milk powder and that may just be one of the reasons why I liked this bread so much - dry milk powder helps to make a soft and fluffy bread, and I much prefer something sturdier, which this was. I noticed the reviews of this recipe run the gamut from its having too much flavor to not enough - I guess it depends not only on your taste buds but the herbs you use and how fresh they are (if they are on the brownish side definitely toss 'em!). I found it perfect with subtle, understated, well-balanced flavors. I used the French bread setting and got the sturdy, well-developed texture and crackly crust I wanted. I also reduced the sugar to 1 T. since I don't like much sweetness in my breads and to ensure it didn't over rise (which it still did a little bit so next time I'll use even less or none at all). Don't be put off by the title which could lead you to think this is a boldly flavored, GARLIC-y bread. It's not. Sure hope this recipe sees more activity, because it really is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This bread is out of this world. However the recipe doesn't tell how to cook if using the bread machine on the Dough Setting and baking in the oven. Temperature? Length? Time to rise before baking? I use my best cooking knowledge and seemed to do okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
Good, but a little to herby tasting. I will leave out some of the other herbs next time and add a little more garlic. Good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
A little plain, but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
Quick and easy to make and tastes really nice. Fills the room with yummy smells for hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2000
A family favorite - especially with pasta or soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I made and baked this bread in my bread machine. It fell a little. It tasted great, though, and went great with the homemade lasagne we had for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
I found this recipe years ago on this site. I added a touch of crushed garlic to the recipe, and it is now a tradition to make this for my family on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was a snap to assemble. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer from beginning to end, as I'm not one that has a bread maker. I proofed the yeast in my Kitchen Aid mixer bowl with the sugar and water for ten minutes to get the yeast to "bloom", then I added the vegetable oil and the rest of the dry ingredients. I did add in 3 tablespoons of Kraft parmesan cheese and I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I had to add one more tbsp. of flour to get the bread to jump on the bread hook, but it didn't need much more flour than that. I kneaded it with the bread hook for about five minutes, then set it to rise in a lightly covered, greased bowl on my warm heating pad for an hour. After it doubled, I formed the dough into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins. I got ten large rolls out of one recipe. I again covered it lightly and set it to rise on my heating pad again. 350* for 17 minutes was just right. When the rolls came out of the oven, I brushed just a touch of oil over the top for a nice bakery sheen. The flavor of these rolls is almost "ranch" like and the texture of these rolls was very soft and fluffy. (It's funny that it did turn out almost light in texture when the dough itself was so heavy feeling.) Next time, I might try using dry buttermilk powder and see if I can't get more of a buttermilk ranch flavor. As it is, this was a very good bread recipe. This will be very good with our spaghetti dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Good herb taste but none too overpowering. I think it's best served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States