Garlic and Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This delish! I doubled the amount of spices though nor did I actually measure them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I obviously wanted to give this a taste before I wrote my review and, *blush,* four slices later here I am. This bread is wonderful! I forgot to add the dry milk powder and that may just be one of the reasons why I liked this bread so much - dry milk powder helps to make a soft and fluffy bread, and I much prefer something sturdier, which this was. I noticed the reviews of this recipe run the gamut from its having too much flavor to not enough - I guess it depends not only on your taste buds but the herbs you use and how fresh they are (if they are on the brownish side definitely toss 'em!). I found it perfect with subtle, understated, well-balanced flavors. I used the French bread setting and got the sturdy, well-developed texture and crackly crust I wanted. I also reduced the sugar to 1 T. since I don't like much sweetness in my breads and to ensure it didn't over rise (which it still did a little bit so next time I'll use even less or none at all). Don't be put off by the title which could lead you to think this is a boldly flavored, GARLIC-y bread. It's not. Sure hope this recipe sees more activity, because it really is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Good bread. Bf commented it tastes like the country sage bread on this site. I'm not sure I agree, although there is celery seed in both recipes. I made the dough in my breadmachine the night before, but I wanted to bake it in the oven. I put it in the fridge during the day and was hoping it would rise in there. It didn't, and I took it out to rise but got tired of waiting. So it really didn't rise as it should have and was a bit dense, but pretty good. Since it was not room temp, I baked it at 350 for 45 minutes. Normally I would have put it in for 30 minutes. I'm a bit confused by other reviews that says this does not have a lot of flavor; it has a lot of flavor in it! You could easily reduce them or switch them around if you don't like a particular flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This recipe is outstanding. My husband and I love it. It has great flavor and is really easy to make. Sometimes I mix in the ingrediants and set my bread maker to the dough function then shape the dough into smallers balls for rolls. It bakes well in the oven if you prefer rolls to an entire loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sheffield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
this is a good recipe - i love the smell of the bread. however, i don't have a bread machine and would love to learn at what temperature, and for how long to bake this. i've tried 350F and 375F and both times it has fallen...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
A tasty bread to go with pasta dishes. I used 1 cup of almond milk instead of water and milk powder, olive oil instead of veg oil, minced fresh garlic and 1/2 of the flour for whole wheat flour. Also, I dissolved a Vit C tab in the almond milk(Vit C helps yeast make stronger bonds and make a better, softer dough. I always use it in my breads). I made the bread by hand which required some extra flour for kneading, and baked it in a loaf pan at 400 deg F until internal temp at 200 deg F. Will add more garlic next time since I am a bit of a garlic fiend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I did not care for this bread at all. The celery seed was overpowering. There was some strange taste that I couldn't put my finger on to identify. Will not make again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
We just did not like the taste of this bread. For how many ingredients were used, we did not think that it had a lot of flavor. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
This was very good. I started this in the breadmaker and finished in the oven. The house smelled wonderful while it was baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Good herb taste but none too overpowering. I think it's best served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States