Garlic and Ham Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2002
My husband and 2 year old are very picky but both loved this!! I did not have brocoli or olives on hand so I substitued a can of Rotel. This added a little spice and was very good. Thanks for the easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SONGLIAN
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
I was a little wary at first, but it turned out pretty good. My husband liked it also, and he's on the picky side. This is a great way to use up lunch meat that's getting ready to go bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGLIAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I used leftover ham for this recipe and garlic salt instead of the fresh garlic. Next time I might add a little crumbled bacon and a LOT of parmasan mixed in. This was fast and easy and my picky family liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I was skeptical at first but Im glad i tried it. I only had frozen stirfry veggies, still good. I added alittle extra onion and garlic and a bit of salt. Husband took leftovers to work for lunch and almost lost it to a coworker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
My husband the pasta fiend loved this! Next time I'll use a small onion since the larger onion tended to overpower the recipe. I used sliced black olives and 12 oz. leftover ham chunks. Also, next time I'll slice everything first before starting step 2. (since the mushrooms took a while, I ended having to take the mixture off the stove while I finished slicing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
This was a nice change of pace from the regular ham and cheese or ham and cream sauce combos. I used turkey ham and whole wheat spaghetti. Something called "Garlic Sphaghetti" definitely needs more garlic than this recipe says - I think I quadrupled it! I also added some fresh ground black pepper and basil. I've cooked with olives before but when I read the ingredients list for this recipe, I wasn't sure about having them here, but after making it I have to say they definitely belong! They add a lot of flavor to the dish. The servings are quite generous so this is a good recipe for a quick dinner on a busy night when you are REALLY hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I have made this a few times and really love it. It is so easy to make, throw everything in a pan and sautee. I omit the olives and find it not necessary to toss with olive oil at the end. Wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Very tasty! SO much better than some ham casserole with cream of whatever soup. My husband thought it felt healthy, which is unusual for a dish with ham in it. I didn't have fresh mushrooms, so used canned. I also had a ton more ham than necessary, so added more pasta to compensate. I used 2 pkgs. whole wheat pasta. The olive oil was necessary because of the added pasta. I used 5 cloves of garlic, but will use more next time. I think this could also be good with some added pesto sauce for flare. Thanks for sharing this great combination of ingredients that I would have never thought of, but will now make on a regular basis!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
My family loves this recipe. I usually increase it to a whole pound of spaghetti, a couple bunches of fresh broccoli florettes (cooked in the water with the pasta), an 8oz package of (finely) diced ham, and a 4.25 oz can of chopped black olives, and 1/2 a cup of butter. I leave out the mushrooms because I don't like them. Very quick and tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Very Yummy dish. The only thing I did different was put a bit of cream with it. Just to give it a bit of sauce. My husband liked it so much, and had to make another batch for him, for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic and Pepper

A super-simple spaghetti with garlic, red pepper flakes, and parsley.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States