Garlic and Brown Sugar Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This is an amazing new flavor. Plan this to be among other dishes at a party, a bit strong for eating more than a few bites. Idea for easier prep: Spread cream cheese and garlic mixture on a plate and once the "sauce" has thickened spread over cream cheese. If you choose to do this think about using a dish with a rim so it can be covered with plastic wrap (otherwise as I learned the wrap stuck to the topping)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wat2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This was a very good cheeseball but I used 2 blocks of cream cheese because the amount of garlic that the recipe calls for is just too much. Also, this cheeseball was much better served at room temperature instead of right out of the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Based on previous reviews, I used fresh minced garlic and only used one small clove. I also used only 1/2 tsp. worcestershire in the topping. I served this in mini parmesan cups, as a base for an appetizer with shredded roasted pork. Layered the cream cheese mixture, pork, topping. It was really good, but be sure to reduce the amount of garlic if you make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This is a great cheese ball! I was a little worried when I read the ingredients, but I believe anything made with brown sugar can't be too bad, so I took a chance. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and put less garlic powder in and it came out fabulous. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
A hit for sure! I first encountered this cheeseball at a good friends family gathering...they call it "the bomb". Good with or without pecan. A easy recipe to play around with ingredient wise. Can even add abit of heat(spice) to the cheese mixture. Fresh garlic and a bit of salt in the cheese is good too. All in all it is very good just made the way described in this recipe and yes everyone(except those who hate garlic) will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was an excellent cheese ball. Big hit with the family. Have already made several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Arizona City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I generally love savory/sweet flavors together, but this didn't turn out so great. It sounded like it would work well together, but the garlic was waaayyy too strong - and I'm a garlic lover. And the worcestershire in the sugar/butter/nut mixture threw the whole thing off, in my opinion. I'm keeping this cheese ball, though, as I think I can use it to make a sort of sauce for chicken or pork...can't see wasting it. I may try making it again - but reduce the amount of garlic powder, drastically, and omit the worcestershire all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
If people say what an odd combination, they are right. Still somehow it works. Folks either liked it a lot or thought it was "different, but tasty".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Exquisite! This was a big hit at my party, everyone loved it! The flavor combinations sounded strange, but were incredible together. I should have made another one for my family alone. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This is a very good recipe, except that I will lessen the garlic just a tad. Still my family enjoyed the unique flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States