Garlic and Basil Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
It was a wonderful change from the other dressings I've made from this sight, which tend to be a little sweeter. I'm not much for exact measurements, so I more eyeballed it, but it's a simple recipe, so there isn't much room for error. Did use all ingredients, as stated, no substitutes. Will def add to my regular dressing recipes. It was simple and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
OMG! This was fabulous. One of the best vinaigrette I've made in a long time. I think I will try using it as spread as someone mentioned previous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Wow, this has excellent flavor. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Super tasty dressing, perfect for summer salads when basil is plentiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is the best Vinaigrette recipe I have ever had. I have served for company twice already and everyone loves it! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I liked this dressing a lot but I agree that it has too much flavor for salad. I put it over chicken breast and some wild rice. It was excellent! I am just experimenting with growing my own basil and was looking for something to make with it. This was a great choice! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurieJ68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Since I scaled this down to just two servings, I was unable to prepare this using a blender as there wasn't enough there to work with! So I chopped up everything real fine, then put Hubs to work with a mortar and pestle, which did the trick nicely. As I slowly drizzled in the olive oil it came together into a nice, rich emulsion. This was really good - both the fresh basil and garlic are evident, but neither overpowers. It is thicker than the typical vinaigrette as some reviewers commented, but I had no problem lightly dressing the salad with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
As a salad dressing, way too thick...as a spread for grilled chicken, roasted peppers, fresh mozzarella and baby spinach on whole wheat hoagie rolls, absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is VERY thick as written. You have to play with the ingredients as stated. I had to keep adding vinegar and oil to this plus a bit of sugar to get the desired taste and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I made this per the directions but I only had the cheap kind of parmesan--it still came out wonderful and so fragrant! I took it to a potluck and my salad was the only thing wiped out in minutes. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Roast Garlic

Roast garlic in four easy steps for flavorful mashers, dips, and garlic toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States