Garlic and Artichoke Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
my husband and I enjoyed this very much. I'm always looking for nice vegitarian alternatives. may use a bit more garlic next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Would be 5 star I think if used different cheese. Perhaps mozzerella and some feta? Great if you are a fan of veggie pizza. Made some modifications: added about half of red bell pepper to the garlic/artichoke saute, and this really helped on issue of excess liquid that many reviews commented on. Also, added fresh basil during about the last 3 minutes of cooking -- really adds to flavor. Used Boboli pizza crust and sauce -- good choice. Boboli crust instructions said to only cook for 10 minutes, whereas the recipe said 20. Took out after 10, but flavors weren't quite there yet. Put back in for about another 10, and it was much better, and crust held up fine to the extra 10 minutes of cooking. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I found this recipe (guessing) over a year ago. VERY good and so easy. It is one of my favorite pizza's. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
O.k. as is, but to me it's way better when using a white sauce (olive oil w/ minced garlic, warmed in microwave to infuse the oil) or a pesto sauce. We also like it with a stronger cheese like romano mixed w/ mozzerella. Fresh basil is really good on this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Pizza is pizza. I've even put clams and oysters on pizza. I made this one years ago. Just thought I would share some tips. There is a conversion chart, somewhere, that shows how to mix tomatoe paste and make it into sauce, juice and catsup. So, I never spend my money on premade sauces. Whenever I use a sauce for pizza, I always mix in some oregano and some dried red pepper flakes. It gives the taste of NYC to your pizza. I also like to add salt, but only to veggie only pizzas, and have even put olive oil on others, under the cheese, not too much, to give it that nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Unkie Stew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This is a tasty pizza and went very well with some left-over Bodacious Broccoli Salad from this site that I served it with. But I'm one of those who don't see the point of the simmering liquid part. It makes it more time consuming, dirties a pot and is actually quite strange taste-wise. It gave the pizza a wierd, oily, preservetive-y taste that I really disliked. Luckily, I didn't have the patience to wait until the liquid thickened and poured most of it down the drain before adding. I think that rescued the meal. Next time I'll save the time and effort and put everything straight on the pizza. Otherwise good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Too much artichoke for my taste and not enough of anything else. It probably isn't the recipe, just my preferences that made me not love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
The artichoke gives a unique flavor to the pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I didn't like this much at all. The marinated artichoke hearts just weren't to my liking, although I've used regular artichoke hearts on pizza before and it's great that way. I ended up scraping the artichokes off and eating what was left. I let hte tomatoes sit in a garlic/kosher salt/olive oil infusion for a few minutes before adding them to the pizza. I used about 1 1/2 cups of shredded cheese, less than a pound as directed. Instead of spaghetti sauce I used "exquisite pizza sauce" from here and homemade "pizza dough III" for this. I won't make this one again, just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
very good!! a little odd as a main dish, is more fitting for an appetizer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States