Garlic Wine String Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I made it per the recipe the first time. I'd rate it 3.5 stars as the recipe is written. Cheddar cheese melts gloppy and doesn't spread nicely at all. The second time I made it, instead of melting the cheese ahead of time, I just sprinkled the shredded cheese on the hot beans. The cheese melted nice as you please. We really like the zing of the uncooked garlic, but others might rather have the milder flavor of having their garlic cooked in with the beans and wine. This really is a flavor combination we'd have never imagined would work, yet work it did. Give it a shot, you might find yourself among the converted. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAROLC80
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I used frozen beans and Parmesan cheese. I can't do can beans, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLC80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dover, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
The cheddar cheese was very clumpy and clashed with the garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley
Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Liked the flavor of the wine but I agree the cheese does not melt well on the green beans. Flavor of the cheese with the green beans was not the greatest either. Agreeing with others maybe I will try it with swiss or Feta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Pretty tasty with the wine. I would rather have white cheese on top like moz or feta crumbled over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Cheese doesn't melt well, and the flavor leaves a lot to be desired. A definite waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
My wife and I both loved this recipe. I made quite a few changes: I used fresh string beans instead of canned. I also cooked the garlic in with the water and wine, making sure not to lose any when draining. And I used Havarti instead of cheddar and also skipped the microwave. I think the Havarti was a nice compliment and made for a more 'delicate' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This wasn't a hit at our house. They needed something. I used frozen green beans and maybe that was the problem. The color was unappealing. Won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
These were pretty good. I did make a few changes, such as adding the garlic to the wine and bean mixture. I also added some onion salt to the wine/bean/garlic mixture. Finally, I put the cheese on top of the beans without microwaving. It still melted, and eliminated another dish to wash!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States