Garlic Wine Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
In a word...excellent. Simply excellent. Reminiscent of Chicken Piccata, with its piquant lemon butter sauce. While I didn't measure exactly, I can say that I essentially used for two chicken breasts what the recipe intended for one. As an example, a cup and a half of wine for just one chicken breast does seen like a LOT, doesn't it? As does 1/2 T. of garlic and a half lemon, however, these amounts were just right for two chicken breasts. I browned the chicken in olive oil rather than vegetable oil, tho' that's just a personal preference. Also, since I don't drink Chablis I used what I had open which was a Pinot Grigio, and Chardonnay would have worked well too. The butter at the end, just as it is with Veal or Chicken Piccata, is essential. It not only thickens the sauce but gives it a velvety richness as well. I garnished this with lemon slices and chopped fresh parsley and served it with an herbed Parmesan orzo. (Pasta with garlic and olive oil would also be ideal!) I have to admit I was tempted to substitute chicken broth for part of the wine but in the end decided to prepare this as written and was not disappointed in the least. This is just a beautiful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was good, simple, and fast to make! Would make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Very good, and very easy. It has a "high-end" flavour for something so simple to make. I added some Italian seasoning to the flour before dredging, and the store had no nice lemons, so I substituted white balsamic vinegar, which worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
There's nothing at all wrong w/ this recipe, but I wanted to offer a word-- I increased the yield to 3, and while the amount of ingredients increased accordingly, the instructions stayed the same. So keep in mind that when you increase liquid ingredients like wine and lemon, it will take A LOT longer to reduce for a sauce, and chicken breasts (especially pounded thin) should NOT cook in a sauce that takes more than 10 minutes to reduce-- I cooked mine for about 10 min., removed to a platter, and continued to cook down the sauce, which took another 20 min. at least! BUT-- very tasty when all was said and done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Zurich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Very easy and quick. Good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was good and easy. I subbed onions for the mushrooms. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
We really liked this....I couldn't use just wine because the flavor would be too strong for my 2 yr. old son....so I used some chicken stock as well. I added some provalone cheese (hubby is a BIG cheese fan) and some green onions for presentation. Delicious, thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
This was a good recipe but I only gave it 4 stars because I had to do some tweaking. Instead of just 1 chicken breast I used 4, seasoned them with salt, pepper and garlic powder. I also seasoned the flour with those same spices. Instead of 1/2 tbsp garlic I used 3 cloves crushed and fried the chicken in butter therefore omitting the end step. I also cut down on the wine to half and the rest I used chicken stock. All in all it's a good premise but I knew just by looking at the recipe that it needed some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lashburn, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I thought this was pretty good, but it wasn't mind blowing. Could probably use some more spices but I don't know what. Would make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This recipe is soo easy yet it makes me feel like a gormet chef. I make it all the time, it has become my new favorite dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States