Garlic Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
This was a bit bland for us. I added a bay leaf, an onion, frozen cut okra, and some browned hamburger meat, but beef broth instead of chicken broth might have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This turned out really good, but as usual, I had to change a few things! I didn't have any cabbage, so that was out, but instead I added an onion and some mushrooms. I also did not have any fresh garlic, so I added almost a teaspoon of garlic powder, and it was fine. I used 1/2 chicken and 1/2 vegetable broth, and cut the water down to two and a half cups. I added basil and oregano, and fresh parsely, too. It all turned out really tasty, but I think it would have been bland without my additions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Great recipe. I used vegetable broth in place of chicken, brown rice in place of the pasta and added a squirt or two of Bragg's at the end with the garlic. I'll make this again and again with various additions. Oh, I also completely left out the water and opted for an extra cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Used vegetable broth to make this a vegetarian meal and added an extra clove of garlic and half an onion. So delicious! Great for these cold winter days - thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This soup is tasty. I added extra garlic, also added onion, as well as lentils. I left out the pasta. You can personalize this soup to your liking and it will turn out great everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
Really a welcomed addition to my recipe box. Would make it anytime and know my guests will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Great recipe. The broth is perfect. I was unsure about using cabbage but it works. I would add more types of veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Tasty soup. I used a full head of cabbage. Used whole-wheat macaroni spirals. My husband really likes this soup, and generally he doesn't request soup. The flavor of this soup is even more amazing after a day or two in the fridge. I served it with some Irish Brown Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
LOVED this soup! Good for you and so delicious. Didn't change a thing and thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Great base recipe - easy, healthy and very tasty. I played around with this and altered the base ingredients. I only needed 6 cups of fluid in total - 4 cups chicken stock, 1 and half of vegetbale stock and half a cup of red wine, 1 teaspoon of sugar helped to balance these changes. I sauteed the garlic with 1/4 of a large onion at the start, then added my other vegetables as per the recipe. Because I was going for a complete meal on a bowl, I added 2 skinless poached chicken breast halves. I poached in water flavoured with some red wine and 2 stock cubes. After chopping the chicken into bite size pieces, I added it half way through the simmering period. Delicious with soy and linseed bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States