Garlic Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Great base recipe - easy, healthy and very tasty. I played around with this and altered the base ingredients. I only needed 6 cups of fluid in total - 4 cups chicken stock, 1 and half of vegetbale stock and half a cup of red wine, 1 teaspoon of sugar helped to balance these changes. I sauteed the garlic with 1/4 of a large onion at the start, then added my other vegetables as per the recipe. Because I was going for a complete meal on a bowl, I added 2 skinless poached chicken breast halves. I poached in water flavoured with some red wine and 2 stock cubes. After chopping the chicken into bite size pieces, I added it half way through the simmering period. Delicious with soy and linseed bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This turned out really good, but as usual, I had to change a few things! I didn't have any cabbage, so that was out, but instead I added an onion and some mushrooms. I also did not have any fresh garlic, so I added almost a teaspoon of garlic powder, and it was fine. I used 1/2 chicken and 1/2 vegetable broth, and cut the water down to two and a half cups. I added basil and oregano, and fresh parsely, too. It all turned out really tasty, but I think it would have been bland without my additions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Great recipe. I used vegetable broth in place of chicken, brown rice in place of the pasta and added a squirt or two of Bragg's at the end with the garlic. I'll make this again and again with various additions. Oh, I also completely left out the water and opted for an extra cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This is a great soup! Everyone in the family raved about it. I will add more noodles next time, and I also added 1 cup of brown rice which gave it a great texture. Omitted the water and just increased veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Great recipe. The broth is perfect. I was unsure about using cabbage but it works. I would add more types of veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Used vegetable broth to make this a vegetarian meal and added an extra clove of garlic and half an onion. So delicious! Great for these cold winter days - thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This soup is tasty. I added extra garlic, also added onion, as well as lentils. I left out the pasta. You can personalize this soup to your liking and it will turn out great everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Yum, this was good, but not as garlicky as I thought it might be... I used beef broth as someone suggested, did without the extra 3 1/2 cups water (if I added it, it would have been too watery for me) and used 1 cup of brown rice instead of the pasta. I even added an extra clove - 4 total. Next time I'll add a bunch more. Oh, I added some diced venison, too and you could have sworn it was beef. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I made this soup this weekend, and it was wonderful. I added mushrooms and onion, and substituted cheese & garlic tortellin for the elbow macaroni. Easy to make, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Fantastic soup! I added a bit of chopped green pepper to the cabbage and carrot saute, and sprinkled the vegetables lightly with soy sauce as they cooked. I used diced tomatoes flavored with garlic and basil, a sprinkle or two of garlic salt, added a bay leaf, and a bit of white pepper. Finally, I used shells instead of macaroni, because thats what I had. Wonderful flavor, served with thick slices of buttered french bread, mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States