Garlic Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Great base recipe - easy, healthy and very tasty. I played around with this and altered the base ingredients. I only needed 6 cups of fluid in total - 4 cups chicken stock, 1 and half of vegetbale stock and half a cup of red wine, 1 teaspoon of sugar helped to balance these changes. I sauteed the garlic with 1/4 of a large onion at the start, then added my other vegetables as per the recipe. Because I was going for a complete meal on a bowl, I added 2 skinless poached chicken breast halves. I poached in water flavoured with some red wine and 2 stock cubes. After chopping the chicken into bite size pieces, I added it half way through the simmering period. Delicious with soy and linseed bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This turned out really good, but as usual, I had to change a few things! I didn't have any cabbage, so that was out, but instead I added an onion and some mushrooms. I also did not have any fresh garlic, so I added almost a teaspoon of garlic powder, and it was fine. I used 1/2 chicken and 1/2 vegetable broth, and cut the water down to two and a half cups. I added basil and oregano, and fresh parsely, too. It all turned out really tasty, but I think it would have been bland without my additions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Great recipe. I used vegetable broth in place of chicken, brown rice in place of the pasta and added a squirt or two of Bragg's at the end with the garlic. I'll make this again and again with various additions. Oh, I also completely left out the water and opted for an extra cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This is a great soup! Everyone in the family raved about it. I will add more noodles next time, and I also added 1 cup of brown rice which gave it a great texture. Omitted the water and just increased veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Great recipe. The broth is perfect. I was unsure about using cabbage but it works. I would add more types of veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Used vegetable broth to make this a vegetarian meal and added an extra clove of garlic and half an onion. So delicious! Great for these cold winter days - thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This soup is tasty. I added extra garlic, also added onion, as well as lentils. I left out the pasta. You can personalize this soup to your liking and it will turn out great everytime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Yum, this was good, but not as garlicky as I thought it might be... I used beef broth as someone suggested, did without the extra 3 1/2 cups water (if I added it, it would have been too watery for me) and used 1 cup of brown rice instead of the pasta. I even added an extra clove - 4 total. Next time I'll add a bunch more. Oh, I added some diced venison, too and you could have sworn it was beef. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I made this soup this weekend, and it was wonderful. I added mushrooms and onion, and substituted cheese & garlic tortellin for the elbow macaroni. Easy to make, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Fantastic soup! I added a bit of chopped green pepper to the cabbage and carrot saute, and sprinkled the vegetables lightly with soy sauce as they cooked. I used diced tomatoes flavored with garlic and basil, a sprinkle or two of garlic salt, added a bay leaf, and a bit of white pepper. Finally, I used shells instead of macaroni, because thats what I had. Wonderful flavor, served with thick slices of buttered french bread, mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALIERRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States