Garlic Top Sirloin Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
I have tried cooking pot roasts in a slow cooker before and there was either not enough liquid or the vegetables were too hard. This was perfect. I did use Chuck pot roast instead and didn't add the green peppers because of a little one. DH Loved this meal, next time I will add the peppers. The meat was tender just used a fork to serve! Keeping this to use again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
Spectacular! I like to add a can of cream of mushroom soup (no water added) to the crock right at the beginning. Later thicken with a flour or corn starch mixture and add a little gravy magic for flavor. Makes a delicious gravy. For those who are saying the meat was tough... use a quality pot roast cut and make sure you let the meat cook the entire time stated. You cannot go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
As another reviewer suggested subbed beer for water. Also, I prefer red peppers to green. I roasted this dish in the oven as follows: Placed veggies in roasting pan; pour broth mixture over veggies. Rub meat with plenty of garlic, salt, pepper & paprika. Place meat directly on top of veggies. Meat should not rest in liquid. (Another option, place beef in another pan along side of veggies/broth.) Roast in an open pan until meat thermo. reads 150*, usually 45 to 60 minutes. Remove meat only to platter; cover with foil to "rest" 10 min. until internal temp. reaches medium at 155*. Return veggies to oven with increased temp. to 425* with red pepper added at this time. Bake until veggies are tender & lightly browned, approx. 20 min. Be careful not to dry out the veggies, esp. the potatoes. It may take a bit of experimenting to get them to your desired doneness. Meat is best sliced thin across the grain. It is tender & flavorful if not overcooked. Serve with sauce spooned over slice beef & veggies. Makes a great leftover beef sandwich the next day. I have been known to warm leftover beef in bar-b-que sauce for sandwiches the following day. Cook once but eat twice as a different meal is my favorite way to cook! Highly recommend this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
One of the best roasts we've ever had. No changes, no substitutions and tweaking required. It really bugs me when people totally change a recipe. I don't even read long boring reviews. If you don't like the recipe, then simply make up a new one and submit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalama, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very delicious. I didn't have any beef boullion so i used beef gravy mix instead and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This is a great recipe, it was my first time using a crock pot and it came out wonderful. I added 3/4 cup of red wine which I highly reccomend. I also skipped the bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This was a BIG hit! I think I must also have one of those fast cooking slow cookers - I cooked it on high, and it was done in under 5 hrs. I also put in some mushrooms instead of carrots, and used beer instead of water. This did not last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Overall, it turned out great. I loved the garlic cooked in the meat. I added a bouquet garni and some celery for extra flavour. I also thickened the gravy a bit more. I'll definitely use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I made this pot roast for my in-laws (people one always imagines to be their greatest critics) and they loved it - even asked for the recipe! My husband loves it too, and it has become a once a week menu item at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States