Garlic Top Sirloin Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This recipe turned out quite tasty! My pot roasts are usually missing flavor and turn out a little bland but this one turned out wonderful. I still think it needed extra salt but overall, very good and worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This was good, but mine got dry. I'm not sure why. I actually used 2 cans of beef broth to cover everything - no water or cubes. I do think if I would have minced the garlic, as others suggested, that it would have tasted better. Tip for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was an okay meal. I followed the recipe pretty much. Next time I think I may add a splach of wine with the water to add a bit more flavor. Won't be one of our favorites, but is something I will try again. Maybe with some small changes I will add it to our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This is a family favorite. Not for the non-garlic lover. The good thing is everyone enjoys this so much, everyone's breath will smell like garlic as much as yours. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDJ0213

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This is a very good versatile recipe! I really enjoyed it. It's very flavorful and tender. I highly recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was good, the meat was so tender that we were able to use leftovers for great sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
As another reviewer suggested subbed beer for water. Also, I prefer red peppers to green. I roasted this dish in the oven as follows: Placed veggies in roasting pan; pour broth mixture over veggies. Rub meat with plenty of garlic, salt, pepper & paprika. Place meat directly on top of veggies. Meat should not rest in liquid. (Another option, place beef in another pan along side of veggies/broth.) Roast in an open pan until meat thermo. reads 150*, usually 45 to 60 minutes. Remove meat only to platter; cover with foil to "rest" 10 min. until internal temp. reaches medium at 155*. Return veggies to oven with increased temp. to 425* with red pepper added at this time. Bake until veggies are tender & lightly browned, approx. 20 min. Be careful not to dry out the veggies, esp. the potatoes. It may take a bit of experimenting to get them to your desired doneness. Meat is best sliced thin across the grain. It is tender & flavorful if not overcooked. Serve with sauce spooned over slice beef & veggies. Makes a great leftover beef sandwich the next day. I have been known to warm leftover beef in bar-b-que sauce for sandwiches the following day. Cook once but eat twice as a different meal is my favorite way to cook! Highly recommend this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
my first roast in the slow cooker turned out fine, everyone enjoyed. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This recipe was wonderful! Really great. I did not use a Sirloin roast since I cook for only 2, I just used a rump roast, but it worked great. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCOTTISHDUFFY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Maybe it was my slow cooker or me, but my roast had fallen apart after 5.5 hours in the slow cooker on high. I had to turn it into a stew. And overall, a rub of garlic, salt, and pepper and cooked in the oven tastes better. Minced 1/2 the garlic and used as a rub and sliced other 1/2 and inserted into roast. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States