Garlic Top Sirloin Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This worked very well for me. I used half beef broth, half red wine for the liquid and did NOT use bullion cubes, just added a bit more salt, sprinkled over the veggies, in addition to the salt rubbed into the meat. Also, used red bell pepper, not green and tossed the garlic cloves whole into the crock pot with the veggies rather than insert them in the meat. The best change I made was to use real Spanish smoked paprika (pimenton) rather than hungarian or other paprika. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Very delicious. I didn't have any beef boullion so i used beef gravy mix instead and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was the best pot roast ive ever had. I used a chuck roast instead of top sirloin, Sirloin was too expensive for our budget. But It turned out very flavor full. Not dry at all. Next time i will try with beer instead of water like some others suggested. My husband was in aww after we were done eating it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Super easy and VERY juicy. I used beer instead of water and used extra liquid so that it covered the vegetables. I only gave it four stars because there was some spice/flavor missing and I can't figure out what it is. Oh well, it was a very easy dinner so I am sure I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Great flavor. I didn't have any fresh garlic so I just added minced garlic to the beef broth. I used a full can of beef broth and dissolved the beef bouillion cubes in the water before pouring them in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was just okay. I wanted to add red wine but had none in the house so added 1/2 can of beer. On the upside, the meat was very tender without a lot of fat you would get in a chuck roast. But the downside is it's not very flavorful - needed more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This is delicious! I did season the meat and vegetables with Johnny's Seasoning Salt (No MSG) in addition to the salt, pepper and paprika. Also, I used consomme instead of beef broth and the flavor was ever better! My husband loves when I make this for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Mine turned out dry as well! Really dry. The garlic flavor was very prominent, and the veggies turned out nicely. Why my roast turned out dry, I don't know. There was a lot of liquid left in the cooker, so I submerged the rest of the roast and hopefully tomorrow I will get a juicy bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
So easy and tasty ... my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Without a doubt, this is the best slow cooker pot roast I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States