Garlic Top Sirloin Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
pretty good stuff.. a bit to much onion & potato (overstuffs the crock).. needs a bit of extra liquid. Would really do well w/ a bit of bbq flavor in the cooker or dry rubbed on the meat as it's a touch bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
ok recipe but not the comfort roast that we all like best with the cream of mushroom soup gravy, it is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi210

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Best slow cooker pot roast I've ever had. Not tough and great flavor. I used beer instead of water as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potsdam, New York, USA
Living In: Dundee, Angus, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
We tried this yesterday and it turned out wonderful. It was liked by all of us in the household. Thank you, Barry Ziegler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Great Recipe, very simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
One of the best roasts we've ever had. No changes, no substitutions and tweaking required. It really bugs me when people totally change a recipe. I don't even read long boring reviews. If you don't like the recipe, then simply make up a new one and submit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalama, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I was looking for something to do with left-over, defrosted, floured cubes of beef, and this was my answer! I re-floured the beef, browned it in butter and olive oil, and then proceeded with the recipe - adding a few fewer potatoes and a cup of fine red wine in addition to about 2/3 cup water. I didn't bother with spices, since I used many (including mustard seed) in the flour coating the beef. I only used 2 bullion cubes (1 beef, one veggie) and didn't bother adding the pepper at the end. We just loved the moist texture of the meat, and the flavor overall was superb. Now that I know roughly how much liquid to include, and how long to cook the meat, I'll be able to make all sorts of variations on this recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Inserting the garlic into the roast is a mistake. Either to much garlic flavor or not enough. Just throw in the garlic and cook with the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was okay. I thought it would be more flavorful. My husband really liked it but next time I will up the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States