Garlic Teriyaki Edamame Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Very easy and tasty. I didn't have brown sugar so I used organic coconut palm sugar. We ate them hot as a side item with veggie stir fry over steamed rice and California sushi rolls. YUM! With the leftovers, I'm looking forward to snacking on the edamame cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I've been looking for something like a local sushi restaurant makes, this one comes pretty close. I've made it about 4 times and it always disappears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALILSWEETY
Photo by Lextya
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Had to improvise a bit since I had only 10 ounces of edamame instead of 16, but turned out great! :). Stir-fried some tofu on the side, steamed brown rice, and yummo! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lextya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
For those trying to eat the pod/shell, you don't. You pop them open and eat the soy beans out of them. When I first went to a Tempanyaki restaurant I didn't know what these were or how to eat them. I had a feeling we didn't eat the whole pod so I asked my sister and she showed me how to eat them lol. Yes it's easier to buy the beans already shelled but what fun is that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I recently went for sushi and had their "garlic edamame." I thought, I need to make this! I made this with the frozen edamame in the pods. I used the sesame oil and added minced garlic I had on hand. For me the key was lots of garlic (about 2 TBL's.) I only used soy sauce (low sodium) and also put water in the pan. I did not measure it out. I simply sauteed the garlic in oil, then added soy and water and put in the edamame which was frozen. I also wanted the sauce thicker so I added some corn starch. The key for me to the flavor was time......... After 5 minutes, there was still not enough flavor. After 20 minutes, the flavor was infused in the pods. I also did add a couple of TBL's of brown sugar. It went over very well. Will make again, and thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Edamame beans are supposed to be eaten from the pod. Some people eat the pod, but personally they are too tough for me. This is a nice twist on ordinary soya sauce and rock salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This was good, but very sticky and messy to eat. Edamame is so good by itself that I doubt I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I'm a little confused as to how 1/4 c of water can cook a pound of edamame in the shell. I've always boiled edamame in a large amount of water, and the package itself suggests 6 cups of water! So anyway, I just boiled mine the usual way, then drained it and added the rest of the ingredients. It's okay, but I don't see that it's a huge improvement from regular edamame with salt and pepper. Thanks anyway, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great spin on edamame! How can you go wrong with teriyaki sauce, brown sugar, rice vinegar and sesame oil? It was a bit messy to eat...but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was so good! I will definitely fix again. I did have trouble with the 1/4 cup of water not being enough to heat up the edamame, so I added more water and then had to end up draining it somewhat before adding the sauce ingredients. I added the sauce ingredients, but while waiting for the sauce to reduce, I was afraid the edamame was overcooking, so using the tongs, I removed them to a plate, and finished reducing the sauce by itself and once it was thick, I poured the sauce over the edamame and sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds. I also used what little part of sauce was left after devouring the edamame, to dip my sushi roll in (along with dipping the roll in soy sauce, too) and I thought it tasted great! The next time I have Sushi, I plan on trying to use this sauce to drizzle on plate around the sushi roll for presentation effects, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States