Garlic-Tarragon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I have made this several times and served to company with rave reviews!!! GREAT SAUCE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I love the taste of tarragon, especially with chicken. Very flavorful, didn't find a thing wrong with the taste. It is very thick and heavy and would have worked great on pasta! I was looking for a sauce for chicken the night I made this and it was a little too thick for what I was looking for. I needed to get dinner on the table or would have tried to thin it a bit. Couldn't beat it for the flavor though! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
It was really good - a keeper! I used fresh tarragon, since I had it. I love tarragon, so not sure why so many others don't and left it out - it was just right. My vegetarian (not vegan) daughter loved it. The only "problem" is that I made 1/2 the recipe for 3 of us with tortellinis, and had a huge amount of sauce. I used about 1/3 of the sauce. I suggest always making 1/2 and saving some (I am freezing to see if that works).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Whoever said this recipe was bad must have messed something up on their end. I omitted the tarragon because of personal taste, but left everything else the same. Served it over ravioli and chicken, and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I had to change a few things because I used this as pizza sauce. I have confidence that is it a good sauce 'as is' on pasta or over chicken, but it worked out good for pizza too! I made my own chicken garlic pizza with half this recipe. I omitted tarragon (don't like it anyway), doubled the garlic (it needed it), used cream instead of half & half, and used chicken stock instead of wine. Oh, and I use only butter, never margarine. It turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This was a tasty cream sauce. Very heavy but definitely tasty! I was concerned with the tarragon reviews so I just omitted that, and the over all flavor was very good. I used butter instead of margarine and used one large shallot instead of the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I thought this came out perfect consistency wise. I did add 2 additional cloves of garlic (for a total of 6), but felt it could still use two more. Also, with the sweetness from the taragon, cream, and garlic all working together I felt like perhaps 1/2 tsp. of cayenne might be in order next time. All in all though ...it's a keeper. Ready to eat in 30 minutes tops - always need those recipes! Thanks Icy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
sauce was so easy to make. and it tasted great. i didn't add the tarragon and i substitued the half and hlaf with cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Overall, a good sauce. Used butter and cut onions in half and eliminated the tarragon, as I don't care for the flavor. I would prefer a stronger garlic flavor, so next time, I'll double it. I was worried about the Parmesan based on another reviewer, so I cut that in half. It needs the full amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EliHunter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I absolutely LOVED this sauce. I added a bit of Asiago along with the Parmesan. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonfire!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Toro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States