Garlic-Tarragon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I have made this several times and served to company with rave reviews!!! GREAT SAUCE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I love the taste of tarragon, especially with chicken. Very flavorful, didn't find a thing wrong with the taste. It is very thick and heavy and would have worked great on pasta! I was looking for a sauce for chicken the night I made this and it was a little too thick for what I was looking for. I needed to get dinner on the table or would have tried to thin it a bit. Couldn't beat it for the flavor though! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
It was really good - a keeper! I used fresh tarragon, since I had it. I love tarragon, so not sure why so many others don't and left it out - it was just right. My vegetarian (not vegan) daughter loved it. The only "problem" is that I made 1/2 the recipe for 3 of us with tortellinis, and had a huge amount of sauce. I used about 1/3 of the sauce. I suggest always making 1/2 and saving some (I am freezing to see if that works).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Whoever said this recipe was bad must have messed something up on their end. I omitted the tarragon because of personal taste, but left everything else the same. Served it over ravioli and chicken, and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I had to change a few things because I used this as pizza sauce. I have confidence that is it a good sauce 'as is' on pasta or over chicken, but it worked out good for pizza too! I made my own chicken garlic pizza with half this recipe. I omitted tarragon (don't like it anyway), doubled the garlic (it needed it), used cream instead of half & half, and used chicken stock instead of wine. Oh, and I use only butter, never margarine. It turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This was a tasty cream sauce. Very heavy but definitely tasty! I was concerned with the tarragon reviews so I just omitted that, and the over all flavor was very good. I used butter instead of margarine and used one large shallot instead of the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I thought this came out perfect consistency wise. I did add 2 additional cloves of garlic (for a total of 6), but felt it could still use two more. Also, with the sweetness from the taragon, cream, and garlic all working together I felt like perhaps 1/2 tsp. of cayenne might be in order next time. All in all though ...it's a keeper. Ready to eat in 30 minutes tops - always need those recipes! Thanks Icy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
sauce was so easy to make. and it tasted great. i didn't add the tarragon and i substitued the half and hlaf with cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Overall, a good sauce. Used butter and cut onions in half and eliminated the tarragon, as I don't care for the flavor. I would prefer a stronger garlic flavor, so next time, I'll double it. I was worried about the Parmesan based on another reviewer, so I cut that in half. It needs the full amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EliHunter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I absolutely LOVED this sauce. I added a bit of Asiago along with the Parmesan. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonfire!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Toro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States