Garlic, Spinach, and Chickpea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I have the original cookbook from which this recipe was taken - it's been modified a bit here from the source. The original calls out 2/3 cup of heavy (whipping) cream, not 1 cup. And as you might have guessed, the "corn meal" is a typo, that should be corn starch. The prep time has been understated a little - don't underestimate the time required to chop 4 cloves, 1 onion and _finely_ chop 3 potatoes. This is a wonderful soup, always a huge hit with guests. Be careful with the cayenne pepper though! 1/2 tsp with a full recipe will make it plenty spicy, add more at your own risk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Really great soup! Added a little extra seasoning and substituted corn starch for the corn meal and skim milk for the heavy cream. I did not blend the soup at all. Turned out to be a thick and creamy soup. I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Wonderful recipe! I used chicken stock instead of veg, peanut butter instead of tahini, and half skim milk/half cream to cut the calories. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I loved this recipe! I did make a change, based on spices on hand. I used turmeric instead of coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
I wasn't sure if you should blend the soup or not. I slightly blended the soup and then added the spinich and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Delicious! I made this soup last night and it was hearty and perfect for a cold winter's night. I only made a few changes - I added a lot more garlic, couldn't find any coriander, added half a cup of sour cream and half a cup of reduced fat milk instead of heavy cream, and that's it. Next time I might add more vegetables - broccoli, cauliflower, carrots. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
I love this soup! I added red peppers which make the soup very colorful and tasty. It's one of my husband and my mother-in-laws favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Outstanding! Added more cumin and coriander for a fuller flavor; used 5 cups chicken consomme, lite coconut milk, the leftovers of simple roasted chickpeas and frozen spinach (didn't fully defrost or cook - just plopped the frozen chunk into the hot liquid). Would add more spinach next time. And there will definitely be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Made with cornstarch, canned potatoes, cannelini beans, and frozen spinach.1/2 tspn cayenne was too spicy, would add less next time. Felt it tasted a little too 'powdery', like the cumin wasn't cooked properly (would suggest adding cumin immediately to onions & garlic to help the powder flavor of the cumin cook out). I'm Indian and have cooked with ground cumin and ground coriander quite a bit and should have known better. Overall, a pretty good recipe, healthy, and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
blended it completely including spinach and it tasted quite yummy. nice and hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States