Garlic, Spinach, and Chickpea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I did not have some ingredients on hand, had reduced fat peanut butter and fat free milk...seemed to work out well. I blended half of the soup when the potatoes were tender. Good soup but was missing something, husband suggested shredded chicken.....several times =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
very delicious and garlicy once you add enough salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I like it, but I have to add salt individually to each bowl to really give it flavor--so make sure to add enough to the pot at the end. I didn't have coriander, so I replaced it with allspice and oregano and it tastes fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
First time I made soup and it was a SUCCESS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayanaya

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was good, but it did seem to be missing something--I think the reviewer who added lemon juice had the right idea. It also didn't taste very garlicky for a garlic soup. Instead of cream, I used almond milk thickened with cornstarch. A suggestion: If you don't have tahini, don't use peanut butter--it's not even close to a reasonable substitute; the flavor is completely different. You'd be better off using nothing--or try grinding some sesame seeds or adding sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I thought this was delicious! Used a 10 oz. package of frozen spinach, one percent milk instead of the cream, and corn starch of course. And it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
We served this at our church soup night and it was a sensation. Great taste. Will serve it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Totally boring, until we jazzed it up with fresh lemon juice and a generous shake of cayenne! The soup looks beautiful (the spinach doesn't "float" like another review said if you let it cook all the way) and has lots of potential--but we'll add Italian sausage or bacon to the leftovers to make it more substantial. Thanks for a good soup starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I have the original cookbook from which this recipe was taken - it's been modified a bit here from the source. The original calls out 2/3 cup of heavy (whipping) cream, not 1 cup. And as you might have guessed, the "corn meal" is a typo, that should be corn starch. The prep time has been understated a little - don't underestimate the time required to chop 4 cloves, 1 onion and _finely_ chop 3 potatoes. This is a wonderful soup, always a huge hit with guests. Be careful with the cayenne pepper though! 1/2 tsp with a full recipe will make it plenty spicy, add more at your own risk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Great soup! I followed other reviewers' advice and used 1 cup skim milk and 2 T cornstarch instead of cream and corn meal and I ended up with a very thick, rich soup. I used an immersion blender at the end to smooth the texture a bit as well. I didn't have tahini so I did as others suggested and used peanut butter but I didn't particularly like that flavor so I think next time I'll either try to find tahini or skip it altogether. This recipe is definitely a keeper - makes a lot but stays good in the fridge for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States