Garlic, Spinach, and Chickpea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This is tasty! Also very easy. The play of the creaminess and the spice from the cream and cayenne is great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wow; if I could do six stars then I would. I used chicken and beef bouillon for this, used evaporated milk instead of cream and used a LOT of spinach but did everything else by the book. This soup is AWESOME! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
It has such a good flavor, warm and delicious! I too followed other recommendations such as using corn STARCH instead of corn MEAL (extremely important) and adding the cumin & coriander to the raw onions before sauteeing. I used Knorr Homestyle vegetable stock (concentrated, sold in a 4-pack of little tubs) - just dissolve two tubs into 7 cups of boiling water - fabulous, so much more flavor than broth in a can/box. We'll definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherish

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
this one of my favorite recipes orginally found from a vegetarian cookbook. i like to add couple cans of snows minced and chopped clams to the mix and my friends and i really enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Made this recipe as written other than subbing corn starch for corn meal (I think that was a mistype) and using 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream, and adding a small amount of smoked paprika. Very comforting. Look forward to seeing what the leftovers taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
So delicious! I also added a pinch of celery seed, yellow curry, and chili flakes. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
If you like it thicker, it might help to blend the potatoes before adding. We liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Used more garlic, sweet potato as I had no regular potatoes and blended it. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Delicious--added lots of lemon juice, carrots, and almond butter instead of tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I had "some" fresh spinach that I added to the onions and garlic step to precook based on certain reviews. I think it was less than half. I did 8 small-medium potatoes and cooked garbanzzo beans from dry. I think my dh will not like, my 4 year old doesn't like but i think it is passable. Tahini taste is a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States