Garlic Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by miskyn
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Cellophane noodles (also known as Chinese vermicelli, bean threads, bean thread noodles, or glass noodles) are a type of transparent Asian noodle made from starch (such as mung bean starch, sweet potato, potato, cassava or canna starch), and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I added broccoli, carrots and onion. Fantastic! The best soup I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Great soup! I was a little worried that it would be bland since there's no salt in the recipe, but its perfect as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very good. I used low sodium chicken broth. I didn't have any cooked chicken already so I used 4 chicken breasts for a double recipe. Perfect as is. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Yummy soup. I did make some additions but had to give it the full 5 because my kids all ate it. I added carrots, green onions, mushrooms, and celery. I also added a bit of soy sauce, sesame seed oil, and sweet chili sauce for a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I was worried about all the ginger, because I'm not much of a fan of ginger. The broth was a little heavy with that ginger bite, but when eaten with the vegetables and noodles, it was really great. I'll definitely do this soup again, as it was filling, easy to make, and low-cal. I might have estimated proportions a bit, but followed the recipe and wouldn't recommend any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This soup was absolutely delicious and so easy to make! I added mushrooms and onions and only had about 2 Tbsp of ginger. Only thing I will change next time is adding the zucchini at the same time as the chicken. They got a little bit too mushy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
What a great healthy soup, and it was a big surprise in taste. My whole family loved it. I always have homemade chicken broth in the freezer for soup -- it's much, much better than canned (see my review for chicken broth). To this soup, I added half of a chopped onion, cracked pepper, sea salt, fresh basil, and a combination of chopped zucchini and yellow squash. I had all the ingredients onhand, except for cellophane noodles (so this was omitted) and fresh ginger (so I used small amount of ground ginger), which didn't seem to compromise the flavor. We'll make this often. Note: Especially good for dieters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Very good. I did substitute shrimp for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed the flavor of this soup, but next time I will use more chicken broth or skip the cellophane noodles. I liked my first bowl so much, I went back for seconds and the noodles had soaked up ALL of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States