Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
So simple, yet sooooo good. It was just what I was looking for. I used a bulb of garlic and some jarred garlic as well. I substituted olive oil for the butter and put in 8 chicken bouillon cubes, used some canned diced tomatoes and put in some gnocci about 10 minutes before serving. Sooooo good. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I made this soup yesterday to help get over the bug that’s been plaguing me. It doesn’t look appetizing but it’s very good (however, I wasn’t hungry for a 2nd bowl immediately… it’s more of an appetizer). I used 4 cups chicken broth and 2 cups of vegetable brother (chicken broth shortage). For those who called the soup bland, I don’t think they prepared the garlic right. If it isn’t cut up enough, you won’t get the flavour out. I crushed then minced the garlic. For those who are wondering ½ cup of garlic is about 2 complete flours of garlic minced (which is the amount I used). So… yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This recipe was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
As is, it was a little bland. I added about 5 oz of frozen spinach and lots of other spices, (ome sort of Paris bland and tarragon and parsley.) Then it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Excellent! It is so pretty looking with the strings of egg and topped with green onion. I also added a squeeze of lemon. I'm home ill today and I know that the garlic in this soup will fix me right up. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by domb bomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Great appeitzer soup! Dip some toasted bun in it and its just like garlic bread. A little strong tasting for a regular meal if you ask me, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I must admit, the first time someone suggested I try garlic soup, I thought it sounded awful. I tried it a few years ago at a tapas restaurant, and though it was delicious, I promptly forgot all about it. Recently a coworker brought a huge bag of peeled garlic into work that she was trying to get rid of (after purchasing way too much at Costco!). I brought home about 30 bulbs of peeled garlic not knowing what the heck I was going to do with it - then I remembered garlic soup. Came across this recipe, but I used chicken stock instead of bouillon, and tossed in all of the extra garlic I had. It was just wonderful. Reminded me exactly of the soup I had tasted at the expensive tapas restaurant....and cooks up in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I usually don't comment but this was bland and tasteless enough to take the time to tell other people not to waste their time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Phenomenal! The only change I made was adding some spinach since I had it on hand. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
dee-lish! will try with low sodium broth next time and maybe add some onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States