Garlic Shrimp and Cheesy Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Very good. I shouldn't have added any salt to the grits because they were a little too salty (I didn't try them before I salted and I knew better!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was unbelievable! Made as is except did add 1more cup of milk because my grits specified 1c dry to 4 c liquid. Never had shrimp and grits and am so glad this was my first try. This is a keeper. So easy. I had all of the ingredients on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dixieknox
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Wonderful! We used sriracha hot sauce - it was the perfect heat to compliment the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixieknox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe, my wife and I made it last night exactly as it was written. We used a pound of of large gulf shrimp which is perfect for the two of us. served it over the wonderful creamy, cheesy grits with a side of fresh buttered carrots.We will use this recipe again and again. Think You, (the husband)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This is a great recipe. I added a can of creamed corn to the grits. It was terrific but it would have been just as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
OMG One of the best dishes I have make in a long time. So good. I highly recommend. And so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was great! I added 1/4 cup more milk to the grits, as my grits label said 3 cups liquid to 3/4 cup grits - was glad I did that, or they would have been too thick. I added 1/4 tsp. salt + 1/4 tsp. pepper to the finished grits. I used 1 bunch chopped *green* onions instead of regular, along with 1 chopped red bell pepper, and sauteed that and the garlic before adding the shrimp. I added 1/8 cup white wine to the mixture while cooking. When the shrimp were finished, I sprinkled salt & pepper over it all, then served the grits over fresh greens to make them wilt a little bit, and added the shrimp to the top. Fabulous! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
OMG - soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Being from the Low Country, I have tried dozens of great shrimp n' grits recipes. This one is by far the best. It is easy enough to make so try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
These were really really good. I think the trick is to use real chicken stock, not the canned stuff. I had some stock that I froze last time I did a chicken and used it for this recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States