Garlic Shrimp and Cheesy Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
OMG One of the best dishes I have make in a long time. So good. I highly recommend. And so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This was great! I added 1/4 cup more milk to the grits, as my grits label said 3 cups liquid to 3/4 cup grits - was glad I did that, or they would have been too thick. I added 1/4 tsp. salt + 1/4 tsp. pepper to the finished grits. I used 1 bunch chopped *green* onions instead of regular, along with 1 chopped red bell pepper, and sauteed that and the garlic before adding the shrimp. I added 1/8 cup white wine to the mixture while cooking. When the shrimp were finished, I sprinkled salt & pepper over it all, then served the grits over fresh greens to make them wilt a little bit, and added the shrimp to the top. Fabulous! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Since there were two components to this recipe, I had to average out my rating. I could only give 2 stars. Although the final taste of the grits were very good, I had to add 3/4 cup more liquid to have them come out correct. With 3 cups liquid, they would have finished hard instead of cooked through. With regard to the shrimp recipe, 1 onion is way too much onion. I liked the garlic but they really needed salt and pepper to elevate the taste. Garlic powder may have functioned better than minced garlic with the shrimp. A dash of hot pepper couldn't save them. I really wanted to like this and I think you've got a good start but, as written, your recipe didn't work for us. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Wow !!!!! Good Stuff ! Being from the north I had never had shrimp and grits before, so I was really impressed at how easy and delicious these where. This recipe will now be in my rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
These were really really good. I think the trick is to use real chicken stock, not the canned stuff. I had some stock that I froze last time I did a chicken and used it for this recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This recipe was delicious! Talk about a quick dinner to prepare!!! Only changes I made were to double the recipe as we have hungry teenagers and to bulk up a bit by adding small pieces of Keilbassa sausage. I would also like to add that adding a little more liquid was a great idea. It got devoured quickly! If you would like a more hearty dish, you might double the toppings (shrimp part) and keep the grits portion the same. Yummy and thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clifton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was unbelievable! Made as is except did add 1more cup of milk because my grits specified 1c dry to 4 c liquid. Never had shrimp and grits and am so glad this was my first try. This is a keeper. So easy. I had all of the ingredients on hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe, my wife and I made it last night exactly as it was written. We used a pound of of large gulf shrimp which is perfect for the two of us. served it over the wonderful creamy, cheesy grits with a side of fresh buttered carrots.We will use this recipe again and again. Think You, (the husband)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Very good. I shouldn't have added any salt to the grits because they were a little too salty (I didn't try them before I salted and I knew better!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Absolutely delightful and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States