Garlic Shrimp Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
It was great! I did similar to what others said with my own little spin, I deveined and peeled large fresh prawns and sat them in a combo of 1/2 lemon juice and 1/2 olive oil, with some fresh ground pepper. I made gluten free thin pasta, which I only boiled for 5 minutes (i have over cooked it in the past and discovered this is the perfect amount of time) Then I put a few tablespoons of butter and a bit of olive oil in a pan with lots of garlic and chopped up fresh parsley from my garden. I tossed the prawns in there on medium heat with the lid on, and when they were almost cooked through, I turned them and cooked for a couple more minutes, adding halved cherry tomatoes at the very end, then I tossed the strained pasta in the pan and mixed it around adding fresh shaved parmesan to the mix. Once stirred up nice and even I put it in pretty bowls and topped each one with a tad of parmesan and parsley. My man asked for seconds :) yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Rather than microwave garlic butter I sauté the garlic in butter with a touch of EVOO and perhaps some fresh oregano then add the shrimp and cook a few minutes until perfect. This will infuse the shrimp with far more flavor than boiling the poor things in water and washing away the flavor. One other comment, always use fresh grated Parmigiano Reggiano; it makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I don't boil the shrimp, I think you can get away with grilling it. Really easy recipe my kids ate it up quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I was looking for something quick and easy one night and this recipe was a great "jumping off" point for me! Used the basic recipe, added some spices - red pepper flakes in particular - and whipped it up. Served it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by olliesmom
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I added a few extra ingridents basil/pesto sauce mushrooms and crushed tomatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
A quick and easy dinner that is not so heavy on the wallet. I did do a few things differently though. First, heating the oil until almost smoking, then adding the garlic until fragrant. Then added the butter and shrimp, cooked until shrimp were pink. Finished the entire dish with a mixture of 1/4 tsp of rosemary and thyme and 1 tbsp of grated Parmesan cheese to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
It was ok, the sauce was very plain. It made the pasta taste plain. My team had to add sauce to it to give it flavor so it wouldn't be so plain. But the shrimp save it because I love shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Once the food was finished it was very bland and not a lot of flavor; i tried to make it better by adding cream of mushroom, dried peppers, and some salt. the sause made it a little better and added some flavor. overall i wouldn't recommend this recipe to anyone and i was very disapponted with how the food came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was a recipe I personally posted when I was 16 and stumbled across again last night when I was searching for dinner ideas. After looking at the recipe, I have no idea what I was thinking posting it here, but it is a good jumping off point. I make a variation of this now, but 12yrs later as I've matured, so has my cooking and so have my taste buds. I agree with everyone else - Swap the vegetable oil for EVOO, sautee the shrimp with garlic, EVOO, and a little Italian seasoning, then add some sun dried tomatoes and spinach for a little color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made a variation of this recipe for the first time last night. With my alterations it was delicious! Like others said, DO NOT boil your shrimp. I fried 4 cloves of garlic in even amounts of olive oil & butter, seasoned the shrimps with salt & pepper & added them to the pan. Then I added a good splash of white wine, about a tsp of chicken stock powder, a sprinkle of dried parsley & the parmesan. Add your cooked pasta & that's it! Really good & will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States